1500m action in grand prix

Round 8 of the Clonliffe Harriers Grand Prix Series 2010 took place in the Morton Stadium last night with the 1500 metres race sponsored by Richard Connolly. In addition to the usual Grand Prix stalwarts a number of the younger generation took to the track with a substantial contingent of Joe Cooper’s junior squad and Gerry Carr’s panzer division and as a result the field was split into three separate races.

Race number one featured six members of the current junior cross country squad along with the top Grand Prixers. Jamie Rossiter essentially led this race from start to finish taking the field through an opening lap of around 66 seconds reaching 800 in around 2.15 or thereabouts and finishing strongly recording a time of 4:11. The fast finishing Andrew Jenkinson got the better of Conor McGuinness over the last 80 metres finishing 2nd in 4:14 with Conor two seconds behind. Ian Guiden took five seconds off his week old PB running 4:19 whilst Eric McCann took 40 odd seconds off his five year old PB (back in his days as a 14 year old running wild in the fields of County Kildare!) running 4:22. Of the Grand Prix regulars Colm Groome was first home in 4:22 followed by Phillip O’Doherty 4:35.

Race number 2 featured a good battle up front between Ryan Cleary and Johnny Bradley-Ward, rounding the top bend Ryan Cleary kicked for home with Johnny Bradley-Ward responding and as these athletes crossed the finish line confusion reigned as John Buckley took up the running – after all it was a 1500 metre race! John Buckley now had a lead which try as he might Johnny Bradley-Ward – now back up and running again – could not close. In the end John was a worthy winner in 4:52 with Johnny 2nd 4:56 and Ryan 3rd 5:05.

The final race featured Paddy Tuite making all of the running as he broke away from the field with Lorna Begley running on his shoulder and so the position remained for 1350 metres, however, in the end youth prevailed as Lorna unleashed her trademark sprint to take her maiden race win opening a gap of ten metres or so down the final straight. Lorna’s time was 5:22 from Paddy Tuite 2nd 5:27 with Pat Healy 3rd.

The actual race results were:

Race 1

1st Jamie Rossiter 4:11

2nd Andrew Jenkinson 4:14

3rd Conor McGuinness 4:16

4th Ian Guiden 4:19

5th Eric McCann 4:22

6th Colm Groome 4:22

7th Phillip O’Doherty 4:35

8th Ernie Ramsey 4:35

9th Liam Ashton 4:45

10th Conor Delaney 4:50

Race 2

1st John Buckley 4:52

2nd Johnny Bradley-Ward 4:56

3rd Ryan Cleary 5:05

4th David Treacy 5:07

5th Colm Hickey 5:10

6th Declan Murray 5:11

7th Colm Breen 5:17

8th Colm Doran 5:18

9th Sean Doran 5:20

10th Fergus Wheatley 5:20

11th Richard Barr 5:38

Race 3

1st Lorna Begley 5:22

2nd Paddy Tuite 5:27

3rd Pat Healy 5:38

4th Pat Devitt 5:49

5th Claude McMeniman 5:49

6th Pat O’Rourke 5:50

7th Richard Connolly 5:55

8th Karen Kinsella 6:10

9th Dave Brady 6:26

Many thanks to the officials who acted on the night in particular Jeremy Chapman, Maurice Ahern, Gerry Carr and Tony Westby. A particular word of thanks to our sponsor Richard Connolly.

The result of the Grand Prix handicap will be posted as soon as Stephen Byrne gets back from his well deserved holiday and no doubt an updated leader-board will also follow at that stage.

Next round of the Grand Prix takes place on the 29th of July the club 10000 Championship for the Bonass Trophy.