Archive for October, 2004

Clonliffe competes at Dublin City Marathon 2004

Congratulations to the Clonliffe lads and ladies who took part in the Dublin City Marathon. The marathon incorporated the National Marathon and achieving some excellent times, our ladies went on to win the team event.

The Ladies:
Eirn McVeigh (Half 01:29:24,Chip time 03:05:23) American FS 331st 03:05:30
Joanne Power (Half 01:34:21,Chip time 03:15:43) Irish FV35 590th 03:15:49
Aisling Coppinger (Half 01:40:17,Chip time 03:17:09) Irish FS 620th 03:17:18

The Lads:
Eddie Coughlan 59th 2:43:59
Ronan Hartnett 2:47:59
William Stafford MS 83rd 02:48:17
Paddy Tuite MV45 240th 03:00:04
Brendon Buck 435th 3:10:00
Patrick Devitt MV50 605th 03:16:23
Stephen Byrne 679th 3:18:58
Brian Devitt 777th 3:21:45
Noel Guiden MS 1251st 03:32:29
Frank “the Colonel” Behan 7250th 05:51:23 running his 25th Dublin Marathon!

Our own Jerry Kiernan’s 21 year course record was finally beaten by 37 seconds on what was a fantastic day for road racing with no rain and cool temperatures. Both the Mens and Ladies winners were runners-up last year. The numbers were right back up again for the silver jubilee marathon with nearly 10,500 runners, back to the heady days of the 80s. Clonliffe were not only represented by our athletes, we also had a team of younger runners out with Joe and Gladys Cooper, making sure the 10000 athletes clothes and posessions were looked after during the race.

2004 winners:
1 Lezan Kimutai (Kenya) 2:13:08* New Record
2 Tseko Mpolokeng (South Africa) 2:14:45
3 Julius Kimtai (Kenya) 2:15:22
12 Gary Crossan (Ireland) 2:24:07

1 Yelena Burykina (Russia) 2:32:53
2 Florence Barsosio (Kenya) 2:33:58
3 Tatiana Titova (Russia) 2:36:04
5 Valerie Vaughan (Ireland) 2:52:10

First Wheelchair
Emer Patton (Ireland) 03:17:47

Record holders
MEN Lezan Kimutai (Kenya) 2004 2:13:08
WOMEN Ruth Kutol (Kenya) 2003 2:27

Clonliffe claims 1st place in Dublin Novice CC Championships

On what was a lovely day for the competition in the Phoenix Park, Clonliffe’s Novice Men took 3 of the top 10 places and overall 1st with a score of 51. Michael MacDiarmada had a fantastic race to come in 3rd place, Ronan Hartnett came in 6th, Sean McDonnel had a storming last lap to come from 15th to 8th and further back Murray Ahern completed the scoring with 34th. His brother Dylan came 39th, Colin Hickey was 48th, Almeida De Capela was 49th and Tony Kernan was 59th, completing the team. It’s a fantastic result for the lads and particularly for Sean McDonnell who was out for most of the last year with injury. Our Ladies came team 5th, with Aisling Coppinger an excellent individual 8th, Bronagh O’Brien 19th, Catriona Boyle was 21st and Helen Walsh was 26th.


Stephen burns off opposition to take maiden victory in Walker Cup

Round 12 of the Grand Prix series incorporated in the Walker Cup took place on the 7th of October 2004 under lights at the Morton Stadium. There was a very good turnout for the four-mile track race which in addition to Grand Prix athletes included a number of other club members running in the Walker Cup boosting the field to over thirty starters.

The Walker Cup itself is a long-standing club race and is generously sponsored by Fraizer Walker. The Walker family donated the cup to the club when the race was first ran back in 1966 and once again it was a pleasure to see Fraizer together with some of the Clonliffe ‘old boys’ in attendance on the night.

To the race, non-Grand Prix competitor Colm Rooney was clearly the class of the field, establishing an insurmountable lead in the first 250 metres. Colm ran the race essentially as a time trial reeling off very consistent laps to lap the whole field and finish in a superb 20 minutes 11 seconds for the four mile race. Second across the line was another non-Grand Prix athlete Connor Healy.

Of the Grand Prix athletes there was a tremendous battle between David Brennan, Tom Monks and Barry Ryan as these three shared the lead reeling off the laps until all sharing arrangements were broken off as they hit the sixteenth and final lap. In the tremendous sprint for the line Barry Ryan proved victorious coming home just in front of Tom Monks and David Brennan (David was later to complain of the wrong choice of footwear giving him traction problems – he is obviously no Michael Schumacher!).

Further down the field it was clear that there were a number of the Grand Prix athletes having tremendous runs. In particular Jim Cleary surprised many with a fast gutsy run eventually finishing in 25:59.

Going into the race the yellow jersey wearer Stephen Byrne had a slim 1.5 point lead over Pat Healy. His defence of the yellow jersey now over the last month has to say the least been spirited, however, he clearly saved his best performance of the year, or possibly even his short athletic life for Thursday night. He ran a virtually solo run to finish in 25:08.

Not only did he, in fairness, out-perform his own expectations, but despite the fact that he was carrying a penalty his wonderful performance was rewarded with a victory over the handicapper and the whole field to win the Walker Cup, thereby taking his maiden victory.

Other good runs recorded on the night were Colm Doran, Shay Byrne and Tom Monks.

The top three were presented with their prizes in the club bar afterwards, a beaming Byrne taking the winners prize as well as the Walker Cup. Jim Cleary was rewarded for his outstanding run with second place with Colm Doran in third. Colm Rooney was presented with his prize for the fastest time.

Unfortunately on the night we were very much stretched, officials wise and this led to a situation where there were no lap counters available causing some confusion to the athletes. Whilst this is regrettable and unfortunate, in the absence of support from people who are not running on the night there is nothing which can be done. It is simply not possible to cater for a field of this size, with varying standards, over sixteen laps with four officials. The organisers are already discussing ways of alleviating this problem in next years series.


Get the Facebook Likebox Slider Pro for WordPress