2023 Club C’ships night 2 (updated)

Night 2 of the Clonliffe club cross country championships took place in a damp and chilly Morton Stadium last night. The event was well supported by the clubs athletes with a good turnout, in particular for the mixed 5000 which had the guts of 40 starters.

The night started off with the 200s where the 2023 club champions were Leah Bergin, taking her 3rd club sprints title and Keith Pike who clocked up title number 2.

Leah 1st 24.90, 2nd Anna Heavey 26.00, 3rd Molly Haslam 26.10.

Keith won in 22.26, Anthony Dillon, a guest was next in, 2nd in the championship was Leo Morgan 22,69 with Paric McGreary 3rd 24.01.

There then followed the 800s where Laura Tuite added the title to her 1500 title won last week, Laura clocking a time of 2.23.99, 2nd Rebecca Walsh 2.25.83, 3rd Ciara Boulman 2.32.78 and in the men’s 800 in the battle of the younger generation where Rory Quill prevailed winning in a time of 1.58.35. 2nd Oren Kenny 1.59.75, 3rd Jack Maughan 2.00.29.

The 5000 featured an intriguing 3 way battle between young Matei Ursachi, Sean Doran and the experienced Karl Nolan, with 400 to go Matei had been dropped and it was Sean Doran who powered away to win the championship in 16.05 with Karl Nolan 2nd and Matei 3rd. In the women’s championship after an impressive run Ciara Peelo took the title in a time of 18.59. 2nd was Racel McFadden 19.15 with Clodagh Galvin taking 3rd (19.19)

Official results:

It is proposed to have the prize-giving for both last week and this week championships on Thursday, July 28 in the clubhouse proceeded by a couple of races and the requested 4 x 400 (mixed) relay. More details on that soon.