35 and 50 year members honoured

Oct 5, 2007 [Noel Guiden] Clonliffe Harriers last night paid tribute to a number of club members in recognition and appreciation of their long years service to the club at a reception held in the Harry Cooney room of the clubhouse. Their was a huge turnout of club members, family and friends who were there to show their support and be a part of the presentation of these awards. Last night`s guests of honour included no less than four former president`s of the club : Alex Sweeney, Colm Brennan, Tommy Griffin and Maurice Ahern.

Club President Paddy Marley thank the ladies and gentlement for their dedication and committment to the club over such a long period of time. 35 years is a long time, 50 years is half a century (if you know what I mean….a very ,very long time !)He then presented Certificates conferring the status of Life Member of Clonliffe Harriers upon the 35 year members: Frances Mansfield, Jean O`Neill, Claire Walsh, Maurice Ahern, Pat Bonass, Gerry Brady, Patsy Brady, Dominic Brannigan, Ray Eakins, Padraig Keane, Des McCormack, Peter McDermott, Ray Heffernan and Tommy Griffin. Other 35 year members not in a position to attend last night were Denis Noonan, Frank Murphy and Frankie McDaid.

The 50 year members were then presented with magnificent Clonliffe gold medals with “50 years service” engraved on the back. Johnny O`Leary, Colm Brennan, Alec Sweeney and Joe Harden. Unfortunately Lar O`Byrne and Sean O`Neill were not in a position to attend.

All in all an excellent night, a night of reminisce, nostalgia and reacquaintance. Congratulations to all our award winners.