A beautiful day in the neighbourhood

It was a fine day indeed for today’s national road relays hosted by our neighbour Raheny Shamrocks, the rain that fell during the senior men’s race failed to dampen Clonliffe spirits. Between senior men and women and master men and women Clonliffe fielded 17 teams, a couple of late withdrawals unfortunately meant that we had to withdraw the men’s 3rd M 50 team. The support of the clubs athletes for both captains for this event is superb. The senior men’s team came in today as defending champions, the 2022 National Road relays had seen an epic battle between Clonliffe and UCD. The result today however was a bit clearer as Efrem Gidey on the crucial 3 mile leg opened a substantial lead to hand over to Jayme Rossiter on the final leg. The senior men’s A team only included one survivor from last year, Efrem, with 3 new athletes slotting in seamlessly. The team of Stephen Cashin on the opening 2 mile leg (9.35) , national 1500 indoor champion Eoin Pierce on the mile leg (4.23), Efrem running another superb 3 mile of 13.45 and anchorman, national 3000 XC champion, Jayme Rossiter (9.32) came home in 37.12 winning by over a minute from Donore Harriers 2nd and St. Abbans taking bronze.

The B team of Sean O’Leary (9.39), junior Sean Cronin (4.27), Ben Coughlan (15.22) and Niall Carbery (10.09) were also shining brightly today placing 6th.

The C team of Mahad Jadda (10.01) , Mark McDonald (4.49), Sean Carrigg (15.54) and Stephen Lyons (10.49) were 13th (41.31). Next in came the D team of Lee Duddy (10.31), Lorcan Benjacar (4.44) , Sam Murray (16.21) and Cillian Keegan (10.21) in 14th (41.31). Followed by the E team 15th, Rory Quill (10.22) , Leon Brady (4.49) , Mataei Ursachi (15.59) and Tom Breslin (11.06) (42.15) and the F team of Oran McGowan (10.48), Dan Lacey (5.10), Peter Bissett (18.11) and Ronan Donohue (11.50) 45.58 in 21st.

All 6 senior men’s teams on the start line gave it their all. It was an incredible sight to see 6 black and amber vest’s line up on Wade’s Avenue.

The senior women gave it everything they had, again the fact that the club could field 4 teams is testament to the leadership of the women’s captain. The A team of Orna McGinley 5.35, Laura Tuite 11.33 and Sarah Bateson 5.29 put in a superb shift to finish in 9th place in what was in the ultra competitive race in 22.36. The B team placed 19th, Rachel McFadden 5.48, Meghan O’Keeffe 12.31, Aisling Killilea 5.44. In 21st the c team of Rebecca Walsh 5.53, Aoife O’Reilly 12.25 and Caoimhe O’Reilly 6.00. With the D team breathing down their necks in 22nd Ciara Sheehy 5.34, Hazel Kenny 12.57 and Mya O’Reilly 6.15.

On the Masters front the M35 team of Niall Sherlock (4.49) , Cathal McHale (9.59) and Tom Sherlock (4.51) ran an excellent race and were just out of the medals in 4th whilst the B team of Ger Clerkin (4.52) , Anto Doran (10.36) and Ger Kirwan (5.97) finished in a commendable 9th position.

For the 1st time there was a separate M 50 race where the A team of David Dunwoody (5.18), Declan Power (10.28) and Philip O’Doherty (5.40) ran brilliantly to take National silver The 2nd M 50 team of Declan Grant (6.02), Richie Barr (12.53) and Alan Worrall (6.28) placed 11th.

The master women fielded 3 teams in the M35 category, a brilliant performance by the A team took them to 7th: Jenny Johnston (5.36) , Ailish Malone (12.22) and Aisling Andrews (5.55). The B team of Elaine McLaughlin (6.05), Emma Cooper (13.51) and Emma Byrne (6.35) finished 13th and with C team 15th, Orla Deighnan (6.35), Claire Roche (14.16) and Siobhan McCarthy (6.44).

So in summary another great day for the club, particularly the senior men’s team successfully defending their title and now adding this title to the national indoor league title won in February. Once again many thanks to our athletes for their commitment and to the club’s coaches for preparing the teams. Full results: https://www.myrunresults.com/events/national_road_relays_2023/4837/results

M35: Niall, Ger, Ger, Tom, Anto, Cathal
W35 teams
M50 Silver: Richie, David, Philip, Alan. Missing Declan (still doing his warm down!)
Senior women’s squad
Senior Men Podium: Donore 2nd, Clonliffe 1st, St. Abbans 3rd
National Champions 2023: Jayme, Efrem, Stephen, Eoin
One for the future: Mahed gets in some practice!