Ahern cup/Club 10 mile/Grand Prix

Oct 18, 2008 [Jeremy Walsh] The 45th running of the Ahern Cup took place today on the grounds of Malahide Castle. Sponsored by Maurice Ahern, this 10 mile race over 4 laps also acted as the 2008 10 Mile Club Championships as weel as Round 12 of the Grand Prix.

Before the race, the Grand Prix Yellow Jersey was cerimoniously handed by Paul Carolan (holder for one race which unfortunately he didn’t get to run!)over to new leader Dave Brady. There have been a fair few in the Yellow Jersey this series: Noel Cullen, Maurice McCrohan, Eddie Harrison, Fergus Wheatley and Paul Carolan come to mind – will Dave hold on to it until the end?

17 runners toed the line. From the off, John Eves, a guest from DSD, set a blistering pace. Completing the first lap in 13 minutes dead, a course record was on the cards, although no one was too sure as to what the existing record was! He picked it up a touch on the 2nd lap, going through in 25.50, was 45.00 after 3, and finished in 52.22. A very impressive solo run.

The battle behind was for the Ahern Cup. At the end of the first lap, Philip O’Doherty (pictured) had a 10 second lead on Dermot Murphy, going through in around 14.30. Tom Monks wasn’t far behind, with the field strung out behind. A few runners preferred to stick to 2 laps, with Maurice Ahern and Maurice Mullins posting impressive 5 mile times.

In the end, Philip took the honours, the Ahern Cup and the accompanying title ‘2008 Clonliffe Harriers 10 Mile Club Champion’. Winning his first club medal, Dermot Murphy was clear in second and kicking himself that he hadn’t done a few more Grand Prix races!Tom Monks took 3rd in the Club Championships.

Race Times:

1 John Eves (Guest) 52.22 (Course Record)

2 Philip O’Doherty 60.28

3 Dermot Murphy 61.44

4 Tom Monks 66.23

5 Paul Carolan 67.01 (Guest for the day)

6 Dave Brady 67.37

7 Eddie Harrison 68.13

8 Pat Healy 71.08

9 Fergus Wheatley 78.36

10 Pat Bonass 79.06

11 Ray McConville 79.40

12 Angela Collins 80.27 (Guest)

In the Grand Prix, over the longer distance, only 2 runners beat their handicap – I’m not sure if that says something about their endurance or the handicap system. (As I’m the handicapper, I’d suggest that the lads should get working on their endurance!). In flying form, timing his ‘run’ to perfection is Dave Brady, taking 30 points for the second race in a row.

Grand Prix

1 Dave Brady -3.18 30pts

2 Dermot Murphy -1.30 29pts

3 Eddie Harrison +22 28pts

4 Philip O’Doherty +51 27pts

5 Pat Bonass +3.02 26pts

6 Pat Healy +3.55 25pts

7 Tom Monks +4.55 24pts

8 Ray McConville +6.11 23pts

9 Fergus Wheatley +13.18 22pts

Taking full points means that Dave Brady holds on to the Yellow Jersey for now. However, the dark horses are coming to the fore. Eddie Harrison and Pat Healy were big winners this week, climbing up the table, while Fergus Wheatley also moved back up into joint 2nd. The top 3 all have 10 races run, so will be dropping points scored from earlier races if they score higher in any remaining races, as it is only the best 10 scores to count from the 14 rounds. Paul Carolan with only 9 races run is lying in the grass, while Eddie Harrison, having only 8 scoring races to date warned Dave Brady ‘Don’t shrink the Yellow Jersey on me, I might be needing it back’! With 2 races left (the Horan Cup, an open handicap cross country over 6k on November 1st and the O’Connor Cup, a sealed handicap cross country over 4 miles on November 29th), there’s 60 points to play for. All remaining penalties will be imposed over the final 2 races, so there’s bound to be more changes to the Leaderboard.