Another great club championships night

The Clonliffe 2020 club Championships came to a conclusion tonight with day three featuring 200 and 1500. It was a perfect night, little windy at times but try and very pleasant all round. Highlight of the night was probably Efrem Gidey adding the club 1500 title to the 5000 title he took two weeks ago. After tactical opening couple of laps Efrem bolted from the pack and to take the club title in a time of 4.05, in a great battle for 2nd Pl, Mark McDonald prevailed in 4.07 from Jafar 4.08.The championship got underway with the 200s, starting with the women’s B race which was won after a very gritty display by Vicki McDonnell with the judges taking some time to separate 2nd and 3rd.

Jafar 3rd, Efrem 1st, Mark 2nd

In the championship a race Rebecca Fitzsimons was strongest down the home straight to win in 26.6 from Amy Hodson and Sally Somula. Pascal Touche justified his favorite tag to take the win in 23.2 from 100 champion Keith Marks and Manny Okoye.

Hope Saunders added the club 1500 title to the 5000 after a fine run 4.51 from Laura Tuite 4.55 and Jenny Johnson 4.58. Amy Sheehy won the Sheehy sisters battle in the B race 5.27 a second ahead of Abbie, with Hannah Browne overhauled by both on the home straight.

Efrem took the men’s championship in a most enjoyable 1500, whilst Niall Sherlock took the honours in the B race and Mick Mahon the C.

Results Day 3: