Both teams through to indoor final

Athlone was the venue for the 2nd round of the national indoor league with places in the final at the NIA on February 11 at stake. Both the men and women’s teams once again put in very solid performances to safely negotiate passage to the final.

The men’s team topped the standings once again on a total of 136 points. Today’s points tally was built on the foundations of 3 excellent wins courtesy of Fran├žois Coroller winning the 400 in 49.17, Greg Hosseny winning the 1500 race walk in a time of 9.17.90 and an excellent performance in the 4 x 200 relay by Marcus Lawler, Aaron Smith, Keith Pike and young Craig Duffy to win in a pacey 1.29.85. Niall Carbery put in a very good shift in the 1500 placing 3rd in a new indoor PB of 4.01.09. In the field events Keith Marks was 2nd in the high jump with a best of 1.85m, Pascal Touche was 3rd in the triple jump (11.52) and Simon Galligan took 5th in the WFD (5.08m).

The Hoss 1500 race walk 1st
Niall Carbery 1500 Indoor PB
Keith Marks 2nd High Jump
Keith Marks & Leah Bergin

Leah Bergin was the star of the show on the women’s team as she took an excellent win in the 400 in a new PB of 55.71. Laura Tuite also superb in the 1500 taking 2nd in 4.44.93 a new PB. In the 4 x 200 relay team of Anna Heavy, Lauren Carr, Leah Bergin and Clodagh Dunbar records a time of 1.44.87, 2nd in heat 1 and 5th overall. . Women’s Capt Jenny Johnston once again led by example taking points for 6th in both the 1500 race walk (9.53.79) and WFD (4.59). Also taking in an unfamiliar event was Lauren Carr in the high jump where she placed 8th with a best of 1.45m. The women’s team finished in 4th place overall on 164 points. So once again great club spirit displayed by our athletes and all justly rewarded with qualification for both teams for the National indoor league final in 3 weeks time.

Leah Bergin 400 PB of 55.71
Laura Tuite 1500 PB
4 x 200 team: Anna, Lauren, Leah, Clodagh

Also on the programme in Athlone were some guest events. In the women’s 800 Greta Streimyte was 7th in a time of 2.16.46. In the 60s Pierce Friel ran 7.23 in series 1 and 7.35 in series 2, Kenji Miyauchi ran identical times in both of 7.29. Michael Deady 7.45 and 7.41. Aaron Smith having already ran in the 4 x 200 took in the guest 400 where he placed 2nd in 51.69. Finally a fast 200 by Marcus Lawler of 21.33 to win the guest 200.