Brady Fastest in 110 year old Horan Cup Race.

Race report by Liam Hennessy; The 2018 Grand Prix Series came to a conclusion today with the running of the 110 year old Horan Cup, 6 mile Cross Country Race. The race was held at Santry Demesne at 12 noon. The weather was an amazing 10 degrees with a slight breeze – just perfect for distance running. In the first running of The Horan Cup in the 1907/08 season there were seventeen starters and today we had twenty five runners toe the start line. Going in to today’s race, the Grand Prix leaderboard showed Mick Gleeson in pole position, but could he bring home the bacon or could one of the chasing pack climb to the top of the leaderboard !!!.

The fastest runner in today’s race was George Brady, who ran whilst accompanied by the lovable 15 year old Rocksy (probably the first dog to compete in the Horan Cup !!!), so well done George and Rocksy.

The result of the handicap for the Horan Cup shall be announced on Friday, December 7th at the Grand Prix Awards Night.

Full results as follows;
George Brady – 38.11
Murray Ahern – 38.25
Mick Bermingham – 39.32
Shane Casey – 40.01
Mick Gleeson – 40.08
Dessie Shorten – 40.09
Alex Eustace – 40.57
Trevor Wisdom – 42.00
Alan Worrall – 42.59
Seamus Devitt – 43.14
Aimee Ahern – 43.20
Tom Cassidy – 43.33
Sean Grimes – 44.09
Laura Kernan – 44.13
Declan Grant – 44.14
Declan Murray – 46.18
Deirdre Fitzsimons – 46.34
Pat Devitt – 47.09
Yvonne Mc Donagh – 47.14
Conor Jennings – 47.24
Orla Deighan – 47.58
Karen Mc Afee – 48.45
Mandy Mc Menany – 53.02
Dave Lyons – 53.02.5

On behalf of the Grand Prix Committee i would like to thank everyone, who contributed to make this years Grand Prix Series such a great success. We would like to thank everyone who signed up this year and hope to see great numbers participate in Grand Prix 2019 !!!.

Note for your Diaries: The Clonliffe Harriers Grand Prix Series 2018 Awards Night – Clubhouse, Morton Stadium, Friday, December 7th – 9pm. We would encourage all Grand Prix runners to attend for what will be a great party night when the winner of The Grand Prix Series for 2018 will be revealed. Spread the word, we would love to see everyone come along.