Clonliffe Harriers Senior Mens team win National Inter-Club C.C.

Clonliffe Harriers Senior Mens team won the National Inter-Club long-course Cross Country Championships held today in Roscommon. The course lent itself to fast racing over the 12k despite the blustery weather. The team included a back-on-form Killian Lonergan who stuck with the breakaway group of six to come in 5th, Cian McLoughlin ran a fantastic last couple of laps to move up from 10th place to finish 7th, Paolo Doglio 12th and Rory Byrne who came in 17th. Gary O’Hanlon was outside the scoring with what was an excellent 19th place when you consider he was recently suffering with an achilles tendon problem.
First place went to 4-time winner Seamus Power, with Dermot Donnelly second and Peter Mathews third. Raheny’s Mark Kenneallywas 4th just ahead of Killian. The rest of the team were William StaffordKevin English and Nigel Brunton.

Our Junior Ladies team had a fantastic race and finished second in their 6k race. Frances Nic Reamoin continued her fine form to finish individual 3rd,Nicola Fallon was 6th, Aobhin Greenan was 20th and Ciara Meehan completed the scoring with 22nd.
The race was won by Azmera Gebrezgi of Celtic AC, with Linda Byrne of DSD second ahead of Frances.

The Clonliffe Junior Mens Team were in action also and came in 6th in the 8k event. Top placed was Lutfi Dridi 19th, the rest of the team was Michael MacDiarmadaPaddy Berrigan and Conor HealyDanny CollinsTom Kilbride Kevin Fenell and Andrew Kelly (placings info to follow).
Mark Christie from Mullingar was first – three wins in a row in Junior Mens CC, with Andrew Ledwith (Fr. Murphy) second and DSD’s Joseph Sweeney 3rd.

The Ladies Senior Race over 8k was won for the 5th time by Caitriona McKiernan with a finishing gap of 80m from second place Maria McCambridge in second and Rosemary Ryan in third.

Senior Men 12000m
Seamus Power (Kilmurray/Brickane) 35.22
Dermot Donnelly (Annadale Striders) 35.44
Peter Mathews (DSD) 35.54
Mark Kenneally (Raheny Shamrocks) 36.07
Killian Lonergan (Clonliffe Harriers) 36.15
V Mulvey (Raheny Shamrocks) 36.24
Cian McLoughlin (Clonliffe Harriers) 36.30
G Murray (St Malachy) 36.42
R Connolly (DSD) 36.52
C Magee (Lucan) 37.02

Senior Mens Team
Clonliffe 41
DSD 48
Raheny 64

Senior Women 8000m
Catherina McKiernan (Annalee) 26.39
Maria McCambridge (DSD) 26.55
Rosemary Ryan (Bilboa) 27.12
J Byrne (Donore) 27.20
P Curley (Tullamore) 28.04
F Britton (Sli Cualann) 28.30
N O’Sullivan (An Riocht) 28.34
L Cavanagh (UCC) 28.48
S Gowran (Sportsworld) 28.51
M Synott (Letterkenny) 29.24

Senior Womens Team 
Finn Valley (59 – 11, 12, 13, 23)
DSD (65 – 2, 15, 22, 26)
Sportsworld (76 – 9, 14, 18, 35)

Junior Men 8000m
Mark Christie (Mullingar) 24.48
A Ledwith (Fr. Murphy) 25.07
J Sweeney (DSD) 25.17
D D’arcy (SLOT) 25.38
J McCarthy (Roverstick/Kinsale) 25.50
S Hehir (Marian) 25.54
E Scully (DSD) 26.04
M Hanrahan (Leevale) 26.07
R Yeates (Raheny) 26.13
B Kirwan (SLOT) 26.19

Junior Mens Team 
DSD (43 – 3,7,13,20)
St. Laurence O’Toole (54 – 4,10,18,22)
Raheny (62 – 9,12,14,27)
Clonliffe Harriers (6th)

Junior Women 6000m
A Gebrezgi (Celtic) 21.44
L Byrne (DSD) 21.50
Frances Nic Reamoinn (Clonliffe Harriers) 21.57
C Durcan (Skerries) 23.30
Nicola Fallon (Clonliffe Harriers) 23.33
F McGreevy (Raheny) 23.42
B Twohig (DSD) 23.44
M Halley (Ferrybank) 23.45
A Baker (DSD) 23.53

Junior Womens Team
DSD (25 – 2,5,8,10)
Clonliffe (51 – 3,6,20,22)
Raheny (73 – 7,11,26,29)

Associated news……
See also the photos in the Gallery.