Clonliffe men are National Indoor League champs

The Clonliffe men’s track and field team were in scintillating form at the NIA Abbottstown today capturing the national indoor league title. This means that currently all four team ‘majors’ now reside in Santry – the indoor league title sitting nicely with the national road relay, national track and field and of course national senior cross-country titles.

4 x 400: JD Kelly, Conor Wilson, Jarlath Jordan, Aaron Smith
4 x 200: Marcus Lawler, Conor Wilson, Craig Duffy, Aaron Smith

There were 6 wins taken today, fittingly as this is a team championship the Clonliffe men won both relays, the 4 x 400 team of Aaron Smith, Conor Wilson, Jarlaith Jordan and JD Kelly in particular put on a fine performance, this team were drawn in the 2nd heat and won at a time of 3.29.13, basically the final 3 legs were time trials, and the time bettered by a fraction that recorded by Raheny Shamrocks in heat 1. In the final event of the day the 4 x 200 again the squad prevailed, Marcus Lawler on to Aaron Smith, Conor Wilson and Craig Duffy, the team winning in 1.30.21 in a pure time trial with one team not starting, a 2nd team not finishing in the 3rd team being DQ, still the time was faster then heat 2 again by a fraction and another 9 points bagged.

Rolus Olusa Pole Vault and 60H maximum points

Rolus Olusa made an excellent contribution to the team taking wins in both the 60 hurdles (8.42) and the pole vault (4.30). Eoin Sheridan won the shot put with a best of 14.68 and likewise François Coroller contributed maximum points in the 400 winning in 49.28. There was also a fine contribution made to the team by Aaron Smith, not only in the relays but also in the 200 where he ran a PB of 22.47 to take 4th place overall. A PB was also recorded by Stephen Cashin placing 5th in the 1500 clocking 4.01.78. Sean O’Leary ran his 1st ever indoor race finishing 2nd in the 3000 in a time of 8.38.20, also a PB. Adrian Iordan was 2nd in the 800 in a time of 1.54.40 and Leo Morgan 3rd in a top-class 60 in a time of 6.90. Greg Hosseny was, it must be said, somewhat unlucky to only place 2nd in the 1500 race walk. In the other field events Eamonn Fahey went to 1.75 in the high jump to take 2nd place, Pascal Touche was 4th in the triple jump (12.23) and Rory Gunning 7th in the WFD (4.31). The men finished on a total of 110 points to regain the national indoor league title with 2022 champions Leevale 2nd on 94 points and Nenagh Olympic 3rd on 85.

Eoin Sheridan Shot win
Eamonn Fahey clears 1.70
Eamonn Fahey 2nd in High Jump
Sean O’Leary 2nd 3000
Pascal Touche Triple Jump
Service with a smile: Aaron Smith 4 x 200, 4 x 400 & 200
Stephen Cashin 1500 PB
National Indoor League Champions 2023

The women’s team it must be said were somewhat unfortunate with injuries taking their toll on what is a relatively small squad. Still there were great positives to be taken from today, the team placed 5th overall but only 8 points off bronze. On the track Leah Bergin took maximum points in the 400 at another fine run (56.03). There was an excellent run by Sarah Bateson in the 3000 to take 3rd place in a new PB of 10.24.27. Laura Tuite was 5th in the 1500 (4.49.78), Lauren Carr took 4th in the 200 (26.30), newcomer to the squad on her debut Molly Haslam was 6th in the 60 in a time of 8.16. Once again the team did very well in the relays placing 3rd overall in the 4 x 200 (Leah Bergin, Lauren Carr, Clodagh, Ava Usanova, Clodagh Dunbar) and 3rd in the 4 x 400 (Anna Heavey, Rebecca Walsh, Cliodhna Nolan, Clodagh Dunbar). In the race walk Niamh Whyte was also making her competitive debut for the club finishing 5th (9.37.25). Snezana Bechtina was 7th in the 60 hurdles. In the field events Suzanne again made a significant contribution finishing 3rd (2.00) and 7th in the triple jump (9.55). Jenny Johnston unfortunately suffered a back injury and placed 6th in the shot, Anna Heavey took 5th in the WFD, Edel Maguire 7th in the high jump (1.40) and Caoime Del Bello 8th in the long jump (4.11).

Debut girl Molly Haslam
Debut girl no.2 Niamh Whyte
Sportsfile photo: Snezana Bechtina in Pole Vault
There’s that girl again!
Leah Bergin on her way to winning the 400
Sarah Bateson 3000 PB in 3rd place

It must be said that both squads, not just today, but in the earlier rounds as well, really applied themselves to the competition and there is a real sense of club spirit developing which no doubt will be carried forward into the national track and field league come the summer months. In the meantime of course there is the small matter of the national senior indoor championships next weekend and then in March the Leinster indoor championships.

Huge congratulations to the men’s team on taking yet another national title