Clonliffe performance club of 2017 for the third successive year

For the third successive year Clonliffe Harriers have been named as the performance club of the year at the Athletics Ireland’s Annual Awards lunch, sponsored by Irish Life Health, which took place today in the Crowne Plaza Hotel, Northwood, Santry.

The men’s senior team enjoyed another outstanding performance through 2017 with the winning of the National Intermediate and Novice Cross Country titles, the winning of the National Indoor League, the winning of the National Track and Field League and national titles also being won by Brian Gregan, 400, Stephen Rice, Javelin, Jeremy Phillips, 100 and of course Gary O’Hanlon, Marathon. The men’s team were also, extraordinarily enough, 1st and 2nd in the National Marathon Team Championships and were the National Half Marathon Champions.

Brian Gregan was also the recipient of the award of Track & Field Athlete of the Year courtesy of his outstanding 2017 track season where he won the National 400 title, won a pulsating 400 at the Morton Games in a world class 45.26 and was a semi-finalist at the World Championships in London.

Also honoured was club President Paddy Marley who received recognition of European Athletics and was presented with the European Members Federation Award.

To complete a superb day for the club Gary O’Hanlon was presented with his National Marathon Title which he won on the streets of Dublin on the 30th of October.

The club was represented at the lunch by a great presence of club coaches, officials and athletes including club president Paddy Marley, club captains Joe Cooper, Pamela Cooper, Gladys Cooper, club secretary Noel Guiden, club Honorary Treasurer Eoin Murray, committee members including Caroline Tuite and Noreen Keane, coaches John Shields, Ciaran O`Donohue, Mick Fogarty and Gerry Cullen, athletes Gary O’Hanlon and Brian Gregan and our wonderful club sponsor Helen Flynn of Hireco.

(Pictured, accepting the Club of the year award: B. Gregan, J. Cooper, G. O`Hanlon)

(Pictured, Paddy Marley, European Members Federation Award)

(Pictured Brian Gregan T & F Athlete of the year and coach John Shields)

(Pictured, National Marathon Champion Gary O`Hanlon)