Clonliffe set for Dublin Seniors & Juniors

Halloween, next Sunday, is the day set the resumption of the Dublin senior and junior cross country championships having been cancelled in 2020. The Dublins are once again hosted by Clonliffe Harriers but this year at Trinity Sports Grounds on Santry Avenue. There is a busy programme on the day as the senior program is preceded by the Dublin juvenile Championships from U/9 to U/17. Please note that there is only a limited parking available at the venue.

There are quality Clonliffe squads in all four races. The senior men are defending Dublin champions having won the event in both 2018 and 2019 and claimed the Padraig Keane Memorial Cup, in honour of our legendary clubmate and friend. The men no doubt will be anxious to retain the cup and make it three on the bounce. The men will run over 10,000 m (1 x 1000 plus 6 x 1500) with the first four cross the line being the scorers. The women’s race, for the Jim McNamara Memorial cup, in memory of the great Donore Harrier, is over 6000 m (4 x 1500) again with the first four across the line being the scorers. The junior men also run over 6000 and and the junior women over 4000.

Clonliffe Teams:

Men: Mark Kenneally, Sergiu Ciobanu, Ian Guiden, Sean O’Leary, Mark McDonald, Richie Owens, Jonny Whan, Sean Doran, Ben Guiden, Stephen Cashin, Karl Nolan, Eoin Taggart, Tom Sherlock, Niall Sherlock, Ian McAleeney, Thomas Balthazar

Women: Jenny Johnston, Laura Tuite, Laura Power, Sarah Hawkshaw, Kate Hawkshaw, Julie Larkin, Megan O’Keeffe, Ciara Peelo, Ailish Malone, Hannah Browne, Alannah Cooley

Junior men: Niall Carbery, Darren O’Dwyer, Dermot Buckley, Daragh Carter, Eoin Byrne, Cian Whelan, Cian Murray, Sean Boyne, Ronan Donohue, Jack Woods, Andrew Gaffney

Junior women: Sarah Bateson, Abbie Sheehy, Amy Sheehy, Naoise Cullen, Aimee Daly, Lara Gallaher, Grace Twomey, Katie Halpin, Aoife Hession


Course Map:

NOTE: If anyone is free to help out on the day please text Noel 0879599888