Danny Kavanagh and Leah Moore crowned Club Sprint Champions

Clonliffe’s Club 100M Championship was held on the 28th of June in the Morton Stadium and although there was not as big a field as last year, due to a considerable number of the younger sprinters having given their all for the Club in the Junior Relay Championships held the previous Sunday, the quality was certainly to the fore.

The Men’s 100M race featured two members of Clonliffe’s National Senior 4 x 100M Relay title holders and in a close finish Danny Kavanaghwas the winner in 11.2 with Brendan Doyle second in 11.5 and Conor Coleman in 11.7.

In the Ladies race there was again an equally tight finish with Leah Moore being crowned Club Champion for 2005 having won in a time of13.0 with Jenny Corcoran in 13.1 and Rachel Jones in 13.6.

The full result of the Club 100M Championship was:

Men’s Race:
1. Danny Kavanagh 11.2;
2. Brendan Doyle 11.5;
3. Conor Coleman 11.7;
4. Neil Whelan 11.9;
5. David Lorrigan 12.3.

Ladies Race:
1. Leah Moore 13.0;
2. Jenny Corcoran 13.1;
3. Rachel Jones 13.6;
4. Anne Marie Byrne 14.1.