David Byrne wins 115th Clonliffe 2

Last night`s Clonliffe 2 was the 115th consective running of this classic on a good running night , the “summer ” rains had cleared for an hour or two and there was a faviourable tail wind from Finglas all the way down to Glasnevin. Up front Tallaght AC `s David Byrne prevailed over our own Cian McLoughlin ,to take the Tommy Burton Memorial Cup in a time of 9:23 a 2 second margin. Cian lead the home club to team victory over Tallaght.

The entry to the race was somewhat disappointing particularily taking into account the work put in by race director Mick Kearney and his team in promoting the event ,however, as always their was a great athmosphere in this historic race.

There was a great turn out of Clonliffe Harriers, especially from our Ladies and Juniors, what a sight to see so many Black `n`Amber singlets thunder down the hill from Finglas Village . Coming towards Harts Corner the front two had spread the field, stringing us the length of the cemetery wall.

Following the front two was Michael Mac Diairmada in 3rd 9:49. First Junior in a fast 9:51, and 4th home was David Fitzmaurice, another Clonliffe man. First lady was Hazel Murphy of DSD ( 11:08) with our own Emma Cooper 2nd 11:14.

The presentation was held in “the Gravediggers” Paddy Marley thanked our sponsor , in this his 20th year as Clonliffe 2 sponsor, Eugene Kavanagh and Eugene made the presentation of prizes.

The prize winners were:

SENIOR MEN 1. David Byrne (Tallaght) 9:23 2.Cian McLoughlin (CHAC) 9:25 3.M.Mac Diarmada (CHAC) 9:49 4.Mark Rowe 9:54 5. Packie Enright (Sportsworld) 9:59 6. William Morris (Dublin Striders) 10:09

SENIOR WOMEN 1.Hazel Murphy (DSD) 11:08 2. Emma Cooper (CHAC) 11:14 3. Fiona McGreavy (raheny) 11:18 4. Catriona Hooper (Raheny) 11:20 5. Louise Reilly (Annalee) 11:27 6. Brid Ni Chonall (Raheny) 11:29

JUNIOR MEN 1.David Fitzmaurice (CHAC) 9:51 2.Mark McDonald (CHAC) 9:53 3. Sam Kelly (Fingalians) 9:57 4. E. McDonnell (CHAC) 10:04

JUNIOR WOMEN 1. Ciara Henegahan (CHAC) 12:42 2.Sarah Finnegan (Dunleer) 12:52 3. Kate Purcell (CHAC) 15:28 4. Niamh Hussey (CHAC) 16:51

MASTER MEN 0/35 Stephen Nolan (Raheny) 10:17 o/40 Niall Coppinger (Tallaght) 9:53 o/45 Dave Brennan (CHAC) 10:12 o/50 Chris Keeling (Raheny) 11:19 o/55 Ray McConville (Raheny) 13:37 o/65 Nick Corish (Raheny) 22:12

MASTER WOMEN o/35 Lucy DArcy (Sportsworld) 11:24 o/40 Orla Loftus ( Raheny) 11:37 o/45 Karen McLoughlin (Donore) 13:15 o/50 Mary Keane (Fingalians) 12:27 o/55 Josie Powe ( fingalians) 14:18 o/60 Pamela Benson (Fingalians) 15:02

TEAM – MEN 1. Clonliffe Harriers (2,3,24) 29pts 2. Tallaght AC (1,6,32) 39 pts.

TEAM – WOMEN 1. Raheny (44,46,54) 144 pts 2. Clonliffe (41,59,68 ) 168pts

Clonliffe Harriers would like to thank Eugene Kavanagh for his continued support of this race, the race director Mick Kearney & his hard working team (to numerious to mention) and the athletes for supporting “Ireland`s Oldest Road Race “. See you for the 116th !!

Full results later.