David Hanley wins the 2023 Grand Prix Series

Mick Kearney reports: The 2023 Clonliffe Harriers GP Series was formally concluded at a Gala Prize Presentation in the Clonliffe Harriers Club House on Saturday evening 2nd of December 2023. 

The Series, consisting of 17 races, started back in April 2023 with the Frank White 5 Mile in ALSAA and concluded with the Horan Cup in Trinity Sports Ground on Saturday 25 November 2023. During the year the Series returned to Morton Stadium following the resurfacing of the track. 

This year’s Series was very competitive right to the end with some 10 athletes in contention for the top prize. When all the calculations were completed this year’s worthy winner was David Hanley.  

David had a great Series amassing a total of 334 points. In close pursuit with 330 points was Laura Kernan who had a wonderful Series. In third place was Sean Doran with 320 points. Sean posted the fastest times over the Series. 

Noel Guiden, Clonliffe Club Captain was on hand to present David with the Noel Guiden (Snr) Memorial Trophy. Congratulations to David on winning the overall Series and all prize winners on the night. 

To see photos from the presentation night click: https://www.flickr.com/photos/146364500@N04/albums/72177720313114648

The Grand Prix Committee would like to thank all those who contributed to the success of this year’s Series. It was great to see so many athletes competing in such numbers. The help and assistance given by all the Club coaches and Club Captains was greatly appreciated. 

The Committee want to thank out sponsors during the year; our Captain Noel Guiden for his generous sponsorship of the overall Points winner and the Night of Miles, Declan Hetherington (3000m), Richie Barr (800m) Maurice Ahern (10 Mile) the Kavanagh Family (Clonliffe 2 Mile) and David O Sullivan(Irwin Cup). 

Finally the Committee is grateful for all those who officiated at the various events and those who provided refreshments afterwards. 

Planning for the 2024 Grand Prix Series will commence shortly.  

Clonliffe Grand Prix 2023 Series – Top 10 Winners 

First Name Surname Points 
David Hanley 334 
Laura Kernan 330 
Sean Doran 320 
Diarmuid Doyle 317 
Shane  Rooney 316 
Declan Grant 315 
Peter Bissett 315 
Yvonne McDonagh 313 
Philip Richards 288 
Orla Deighan 284 

Winners of last 5 GP Races 

Top 3 Third Series   
First Name Surname Points 
Laura Kernan 169 
Shane  Rooney 146 
Yvonne McDonagh 145 

Clonliffe 2 Mile GP Winners