Declan hits the Power to win club 10,000 (with full results)

On a wet and breezy night 36 souls braved 25 daunting laps of the track for the 2013 Clonliffe Harriers club 10,000m championship for the Bonass Trophy which also included the latest round of the ever popular Grand Prix series.

It was a night not for the faint hearted and it was pleasing to see such a great turn out for what is, let`s face it, not the most pleasurable way to spend a Thursday evening. And so as the weather worsened the field set off focusing on that most demanding task of the 10,000: lap counting.

Up front an intriguing battle developed: the young prentender Darren Reilly taking on the experienced and very pacy Declan Power. Declan has won this title on several occasions and he demonstrated why as he drove the pace on to break the field apart and record a win by slightly over half a minute running a time of 33.23 ahead of young Reilly (34.01) these two having lapped the entire field well clear of 3rd place man Tom Sherlock (36.27).

The first three womens were: Jacqui Dunphy (40.23), Alison O`Sullivan (43.32) and Emma Dunne (45.56).

In the Grand Prix there was a clean sweep of the major positions by the fairer sex: 1st Rachel Wisdom, 2nd Mary Pardue Smyth, 3rd Deirdre Fitzsimons.

Throughout the race there were battles won and lost and as the athletes recounted these battles on their warm down the stadium lights went off to let the darkness join the rain and breeze. Another successful Grand Prix race done and dusted and now only four to go this season.

Many thanks to the sponsor Pat Bonass, who has been a long time sponsor of the 10,000, over twenty years now, to the officials (no doubt mentally exhaused from lap counting), Caroline Tuite and all involved. Next up on the Grand Prix schedule is another season highlight the Walker Cup on TUESDAY September 24th.

Full Results 2013 Club 10,000:

Pos. Name Time
1 Declan Power 00:33:23
2 Darren Reilly 00:34:08
3 Thomas Sherlock 00:36:27
4 Sean Doran 00:36:41
5 Philip  O’Doherty 00:36:53
6 Shane Casey 00:37:13
7 Desie Shorten 00:38:12
8 Maurice McCrohan 00:38:31
9 Ronan McDermott 00:39:55
10 Pat Byrne 00:40:01
11 Mark Dowling 00:40:20
12 Kevin Dowling 00:40:33
13 Anthony O’Brien 00:40:35
14 Fergus Keenan 00:40:50
15 Jackie Dunphy 00:40:53
16 Steve Eustace 00:41:04
17 Robert Beckett 00:41:13
18 Rachel Wisdom 00:41:59
19 Richie Barr 00:42:41
20 Colm Breen 00:43:03
21 Thomas Ennis 00:43:09
22 Alison O’Sullivan 00:43:32
23 Pat Devitt 00:43:45
24 Deirdre Fitzsimons 00:44:10
25 Emma Dunne 00:45:56
26 Brendan Donnelly jnr 00:45:56
27 Terry  Mee 00:46:14
28 Pat Bonass 00:46:35
29 Mary Purdue-Smyth 00:47:06
30 Dave Brady (Raheny) 00:50:34
31 Sinead Smith 00:54:14
32 Mandy Lawless (guest) 00:54:59