Dermot Breslin wins final GP race

This morning, Saturday 25 November 2023 the final Grand Prix race of the 2023 Series, the Horan Cup, took place in the Trinity Santry Sports Ground. The Horan Cup is one of Clonliffe’s historical races. It was first competed for 115 years ago.   

In ideal conditions 19 athletes took to the start line for this 10k Cross Country race. The course, consisting of 10 laps, was in excellent condition.  

Ronnie Dowling, was in great form and led from start to finish recording a time of 40:00. In second place was Mick Bermingham in 44:29 with Eoin Rafter in third in 45:14. 

Clodagh Moriarty was first women home in 49:12 followed by Laura Kernan in 49:34 and Orla Deighan in 52:55. 

Congratulations to Dermot Breslin this year’s winner of the Horan Cup. 

The first three in the Grand Prix were: 

  1. Dermot Breslin 
  2. Mick Berminghan 
  3. Richie Barr

A prize giving took place in the Clonliffe Club House after the race. Many thanks to those who officiated and to Paddy Tuite for providing welcome refreshments. A special thanks to the Trinity Sports Ground staff. 

Gala Function – 2023 Series Winners 

The 2023 GP Series is now concluded. It featured 17 various races since March. All that remains now is to determine the overall winners. These will be revealed at a Gala function next Saturday 2nd December 2023 in the Clonliffe Club House. The function will commence at 7pm and hot food will be provided. The presentation of prizes will take place at 8pm.  

Race Result – Horan Cup – 25 November 2023 

Trinity Sports Ground 

Place First Name Surname Actual 
Robbie  Dowling 00:40:00 
Mick Bermingham 00:44:29 
Eoin  Rafter 00:45:14 
Richie Barr 00:45:16 
Shane  Rooney 00:48:09 
Dermot Breslin 00:48:55 
Declan Grant 00:49:03 
Niall Markey 00:49:06 
Clodagh Moriarty 00:49:12 
10 Diarmuid Doyle 00:49:26 
11 Alan Worral 00:49:30 
12 Laura Kernan 00:49:34 
13 Carl Fleming 00:49:50 
14 David Hanley 00:50:14 
15 Philip Richards 00:50:36 
16 Orla Deighan 00:52:55 
17 Yvonne McDonagh 00:55:23 
18 Ciara O’Regan 00:55:36