Donore Harriers’ John Travers wins 121st Clonliffe 2 (full results)

Ireland’s oldest road race the Clonliffe 2 took place for the 121st time last night. As has been the situation since the club’s centenary year in 1986 the race was once again held on the ‘traditional’ Finglas to Glasnevin point to point course on a night which was perfect for running, cool, a little wind and no rain. The field of some 122 athletes included our U.S. visitor Don Makela.

 As always with the Clonliffe 2 the first mile was extremely fast, the leaders international athlete John Travers (Donore Harriers) and Raheny Shamrocks Kevin Moriarty hitting the mile mark at 4.20 slightly ahead of Joe Warne (Doheny A.C.), three or four seconds behind were Clonliffe junior pairing Ian Guiden and Aaron Hanlon closely pursued by Rathfarnham pair Eoin Flynn and Paul Fleming. On the long drag up towards Glasnevin cemetery Travers made his move pulling away to win the Clonliffe 2 in a fast 8.56 with Moriarty six seconds in arrears 9.03, Joe Warne 3rd 9.28, Ian Guiden was 4th 9.30 managing to hold off Eoin Flynn (Rathfarnham) 9.33 with Aaron Hanlon 6th in 9.38.

 First woman was Barbara Cleary 10.42 from Raheny pairing Annette Kealy 10.47 and Shiela Coyle 11.00. First junior woman was Clonliffe’s Rachel Murray (13.32).

 In the team competition Raheny took the win with 20 points with Clonliffe 26. The same result prevailed in the women’s team competition with Raheny 99 from Clonliffe’s 180.

 From a Clonliffe perspective there were excellent runs from the junior men, Ian Guiden, Aaron Hanlon and John Buckley. A very good run also by Joseph Cooper who was first Senior in 16th place and from newcomer Conor Keane, son of the great Padraig Keane 18th in 10.07.

 The prizegiving was held in ‘the Gravediggers’ where race sponsor Eugene Kavanagh made the presentation prizes along with Clonliffe Club President Paddy Marley. Clonliffe Harriers would like to thank Eugene Kavanagh for his continued sponsorship of this race, he has been sponsoring this race on an annual basis since 1986, Clonliffe also would like to thank the race director Mick Kearney and all his team on the night and the athletes for participating in Ireland’s oldest race.


 Senior Men:

 1.John Travers (Donore) 8.56

 2.Kevin Moriarty (Raheny) 9.03

 3.Joe Warne (Doheny) 9.28

Senior Women:

 1.Barbara Cleary 10.42

2.Annette Kealy 10.47

 3.Sheila Coyle (Raheny) 11.00

 Junior Men:

 1.Ian Guiden (Clonliffe) 9.30

 2.Aaron Hanlon (Clonliffe) 9.38

 3.John Buckley (Clonliffe) 10.35

Junior Women:

 1.Rachel Murray (Clonliffe) 13.32

Master Men:

M/35 Paul Fleming (Rathfarnham) 9.43

M/40 Hans De Raeymaeker (Clonliffe) 11.03

M50 Niall Coppinger (Tallaght) 10.31

M/55 Nigel Burke (Sportsworld) 11.25

M/60 Jim Gaughan (Mayo) 11.29

M/65 Tony Martin (Civil Service) 14.23

Master Women:

W/35 Helen Carr (Raheny) 13.44

W/40 Lucy D’Arcy (Sportsworld) 12.26

W/45 Eimear Mallon (Clonliffe) 15.50

W/55 Mary Whelan 15.58

W/60 Josie Power (Fingallians)


For the results of the 121st Clonliffe 2 race please click on the link below:

121st Clonliffe 2 Results



[nggallery id=11]