Doyler ends Clonliffe 2 mile drought (updated)

Cathal Doyle today, October 22nd, became the 1st Clonliffe Harriers winner of the Clonliffe 2 since Ian Guiden’s win back in 2014, ending a 9 year drought. The historic Clonliffe 2 was back to the Glasnevin traditional area, successfully trialed last year, and attracted a healthy 250 or so starters. It is a tough enough course with an uphill start close to the Met office on Glasnevin Hill, before the downhill stretch at Violet Hill and then the sharp turn left back onto the old route passing the cemetery and finishing outside the licensed premises of John Kavanagh, the Gravediggers our long-time generous sponsor since 1986.

Cathal took the race by the scruff of the neck from the start pushing hard all the way and chased by Rathfarnham AC’s pairing of Mitchell Byrne and David Scanlon and fellow sub- four-minute miler Shane Bracken (Swinford AC). In the end Cathal came into the finish straight with a good lead to win in a tasty 8.46 with the Rathfarnham man 2nd in 8.55 and Bracken taking 3rd in 8.57. Young Clonliffe athlete Sean Cronin had another fine run to take 5th place overall, 1st junior man in 9.26 with fellow teammates Lorcan Benjacar 2nd junior, 9th overall, 9.42 and Leon Brady 3rd junior 9.44.

Carla Sweeney (Rathfarnham) continued her fine form, the former national 1500 champion coming home 1st woman in a fine time of 10.34, 2nd woman was Aine Cotter (North East Runners AC) 10.45 with Clonliffe’s Emma Mitchell 3rd woman in 11.03. The junior women’s top 3 positions were filled by Clonliffe athletes with Mya O’Reilly 1st (12.58), Chloe Heaslip 2nd (11.03) and Sophie Kernan 3rd (11.20).

The winners in the Masters categories were:

W 35 Jenny Johnston (Clonliffe) 11.56, W 40 Michelle Cox (Newbridge) 11.25, W 45 Laura Kernan (Clonliffe) 13.21), W 50 Orla Deignan (Clonliffe) 13.31, W 55 Orla Gormley (Raheny) 13.10, W 60 Mary McGurk (unattached) 17.50, W 65 Teresa Egan (unattached) 18.22.

M35 David McEvoy (St Albans) 10.28, M 40 Nigel Duignan (Trim) 10.17, M 45 Paul Fleming (Rathfarnham) 10.32, M 50 Vincent McCormack ( SLOT) 11.23, M 55 Shane Healy (MSB) 9.31, M 60 Noel Daly (Clonliffe) 14.42, M 65 Diarmuid Doyle (Clonliffe) 13.24, M 70 Frank Brady (Drogheda and District) 15.53

A big welcome also today to the huge contingent of athletes from our neighbours Ballymun AC who took part in this race for the 1st time.

Clonliffe would like to thank our sponsor the Kavanagh family, the gardai who assisted with the race, the St Johns ambulance, the club volunteers and the athletes for making this 132nd Clonliffe 2 mile such a success. We look forward to seeing you all back for this iconic race in 2024 for version number 133!

Full results:

Photos from Darren and Noel: