Dublin novice cross country

Oct 11, 2009 [Jeremy Walsh] A great start to the cross country season for Clonliffe Harriers, with the Men taking individual gold and bronze and team gold. The Ladies were also in the medals – their report to follow.

On a fine day the 6k course over 4 laps was going to be fast. From the off Clonliffe were to the fore with Dave Fitzmaurice, Brett Paine, Eoin Pearce and Conor Healy in the mix at the top. Fitzy bided his time, going with every move, waiting for his moment. When he did make his move it was decisive and it was effective, opening up a gap with apparent ease and striding away to a 30second victory, and the gold medal and title of Dublin Novice Cross Country Champion 2009 that goes with it. Not far behind, the man from Melbourne Brett Paine continued his fine upward curve to finish a comfortable 3rd. An individual bronze medal was a fine achievement for someone only running 2 years or so and good to see him following through on a fine track season. Another youngster coming through, Eoin Pearse had a fine run to finish 7th with Conor Healy in 9th. Considering these lads are only recently back training it was great to win team gold so comfortably.

5th home for the a team was myself in 18th. One of these days I’ll win a medal. You see, I just need a few youngsters to come through at the right time, but not too many…Just behind was Ernie Ramsey (20th) coming into great shape now, closely followed by Tom Guilfoyle (22nd) and Stephen Harkness (25th). The B team led home by Ernie also did a great job, finishing ahead of all other B teams and some A teams in placing 8th out of 14 teams. Terry McLoughlin was next home in 39th. However, he had a bad fall on the 2nd lap from which it was going to be hard to come back. Paul Kelly and Mark Bermingham finished close together in 44th and 45th with Eoin Murray 54th and Paul Carolan 69th.

Well done to all.

Clonliffe results:

1 David Fitzmaurice 18.24

3 Brett Paine 19.06

7 Eoin Pearce 19.47

9 Conor Healy 19.51

18 Jeremy Walsh 20.18

20 Ernie Ramsey 20.23

22 Tom Guilfoyle 20.29

25 Stephen Harkness 20.43

39 Terry McLoughlin 21.24

44 Paul Kelly 21.46

45 Mark Bermingham 21.52

54 Eoin Murray 22.09

69 Paul Carolan 22.53


1 Clonliffe A 20 points

2 Rathfarnham A 41

3 Donore A 53