Dublin Track Championships May 31st

In conjunction with Graded Meeting no. 5 the Dublin Athletics Board held its Dublin Track Championships for both senior and master athletes at the Morton Stadium, Santry on Wednesday the 31st of May. There were some excellent performances by Clonliffe athletes, in particular by Conor Healy, David Brennan and Philip O’Doherty and by our sprinters Daniel Tobin and John Laffey.

In the Mens 200M championship Daniel Tobin placed 3rd in a time of 22:38 with John Laffey 4th in 22:78. The race was won by DSD’sRobert Daly in a time of 21:91 from Antoine Burke of Crusaders in 21:92.

In the masters championship once again John Fay came down in distance to use his natural speed to claim Masters Bronze in a time of 26:93. Winner of that race was Anthony Martin of Monaghan Phoenix A.C. 24:79 from Greg Duggan of Mullingar Harriers.

There was a good field of some 19 athletes in the 5000M which served as both the senior and masters championship events. Clonliffe’s three representatives were taking part in the masters category with David Brennan, again defying Father Time by running a superb PB of 16:12.29, taking believe it or not, some 20 seconds off his previous PB. David placed 4th in the masters category. Noel Guiden ran 17:59.28. (my best time over 5K since 1987!). Bizarrely Pat Bonas was knocked off the track by a sprinting finisher in the senior race as Pat commenced his 2nd last lap.

The race winner was former Clonliffe man Liam O’Halloran, now of course running for Raheny Shamrocks who ran 15:15.94 from David Byrne of Tallaght (recent winner of the Clonliffe 2) 15:16.83 and Thomas Maunsell of Leevale A.C. 15:37.

In the Ladies 800M Clonliffe’s Khadijah Dridi ran very well recording a time of 2:34.61 to place 8th in the championship. The race winner wasKerry Harty of Newcastle A.C.

There was a huge turnout for the Mens 800M, resulting in the senior championship being split into four separate races and then a fifth race for the masters championship.

Of our seniors Conor Healy was the star of the show running the evenings fastest time and taking the Dublin Championship with a time of1:57.15Kevin English ran a time of 2:03.18Stephen Harkness ran 2:04.53Declan Moran recorded a time of 2:14.18 and Chris Troy 2:38.4.

Of the masters Philip O’Doherty ran a superb race to take Silver in a time of 2:09.3, the race winner being Anthony Geoghegan of St. Laurence O’Toole 2:08.93. Once again John Fay togged out for a second race of the evening running a time of 2:18.10George Maybury ran 2:23.78.

There was considerable debate amongst the masters athletes concerning the Dublin County Board’s, apparent, decision not to award championship medals in all masters age categories, clearly in breach of the County Board’s Rules which were amended at the Dublin County Board AGM on foot of Clonliffe Harriers Motion to the effect that awards be made in all masters categories in all Dublin County Championships. On what basis the County Board made this unilateral decision not to make awards in all masters categories remains unclear. Full results are available on www.dublinathletics.com.