Euro clubs man Powers to Grand Prix win

Eoin Murray Reprts: The first race in the 2013 Grand Prix series took place last night on the track. The cold weather did not stop close to 50 athletes toeing the line for the Frank White 5 Mile which was very generously sponsored by Colm Doran.

From the off, Declan Power, who competed for Clonliffe Harriers in February`s European Club`s Cross Country, took control of the race and eased to victory in a nippy 26.15, he was followed home by Tom Sherlock and Sean Doran. Conor Keane showing the benefits of consistent hard training over the winter was in second place for most of the race but miscalculated the count of his laps, not the only one to do the make that mistake.

The winner in the handicap was Raheny Shamrocks Mary Purdue-Smyth, the only person to beat her handicapped  time, in second place was Maurice McCrohan followed by Eoin Murray.

The presentation took place in the club bar afterwards with some welcome tea, coffee and biscuits(thanks Caroline, Paddy and Frank). Thanks to the officials who turned out on a cold night to help with the race, all the athletes and to Colm Doran for sponsoring the prizes. Thanks also to Declan Murray for donating two tickets to the Messiah to be included in the spot prizes.

Next race in the series is on the 18th April, 3k on the track.


Declan Power                    0:26:15

Thomas Sherlock              0:28:47

Sean Doran                         0:28:48

Eoin Murray                       0:28:51

Colm Hickey                       0:29:01

Joe Phipps                          0:29:05

Dave Brady                         0:29:31

Clive Ahern                         0:29:55

Maurice McCrohan           0:30:15

Raymond Dunne              0:30:25

Dave Corcorcan                0:30:32

Mark Gilvarry                     0:31:13

Pat Berry                             0:32:13

Pat Byrne                            0:32:14

Kevin Dowling                   0:32:17

Ger Prendergast                 0:32:29

Jeremy Chapman             0:32:33

Declan Murray                  0:32:37

Liam Hennessy                  0:32:39

Gerry McCabe                   0:33:01

Desie Shorten                   0:33:02

Colm McDonnell              0:33:05

Bernie Byrne                      0:33:34

Rachel Wisdom                 0:33:51

Colm Breen                        0:34:03

Richie Barr                         0:34:11

Paddy Devitt                      0:34:25

Louise Morgan                  0:34:41

Nigel O’Neill                       0:35:07

Pat Devitt                            0:35:10

R Colbert                             0:35:51

Clodagh Moriarty             0:35:53

Emma Dunne                     0:35:54

Karen Kinsella                    0:36:16

Aine McCann                     0:36:19

Mary Purdue-Smyth         0:36:51

Deirdre Fitzsimons          0:37:18

Terry  Mee                          0:37:28

Sinead Smith                     0:40:46

Lorraine Sherwood           0:40:46

Dave Brady (Raheny)       0:42:08

John Langan                       0:42:25

Richard Connolly              0:43:05