Grand Prix: Anto & Clodagh Club 10 Mile Champs

Mick Kearney reports: The Clonliffe Harriers 10 Mile Championship and Grand Prix was held this morning in Malahide Demesne in ideal conditions. Immediately prior to the race athletes and officials paused to observe a minutes silence for the victims of the Creeslough tragedy.

The race got under way shortly after 10.30. Anto Doran continued a good run of form leading the 10 Mile from start to finish and clocking under the hour at 59.05. Ray Dunne ran a steady race finishing in
second with Marcus Shipley coming home third.

Maurice Ahern presents the Ahern Cup to club champion Anto Doran

Maurice Ahern presented the Ahern Cup to a delighted Anto Doran. Noel Guiden, Clonliffe Captain, present the 10 Mile Championships men’s prizes to Anto, Ray and Marcus.

Club President Paddy Marley with women’s champion Clodagh Moriarty

Clodagh Moriarty running on home turf ran a creditable 75.10 coming home in first place in the Women’s race. Orla Deighan was second in 77.10 followed by Yvonne McDonagh in 85.20. Paddy Marley, Club President, presented the Championships prizes to Clodagh, Orla and Yvonne.

Grand Prix Winner Shane Rooney

In the Grand Prix Series Shane Rooney achieved first place, in second was Anto Doran and in third was Richie Barr. Maurice present the GP prizes to all three.

The smile of a new PB: Richie Barr

A big thank you to all the Club members who officiated at the start, finish and around the course. Many thanks to Maurice Ahern for sponsoring the Club Championship Trophy and the Grand Prix prizes. A updated GP Points Table will be posted in the coming week.

Clonliffe Harriers 10 Mile Club Championship Race Result:

Men’s Result

1 Anto Doran 00:59:05
2 Ray Dunne 01:02:08
3 Marcus Shipley 01:02:28

Women’s result

1 Clodagh Moriarty 01:15:10
2 Orla Deighan 01:17:10
3 Yvonne McDonagh 01:25:20

Clonliffe Harriers 10 Mile Grand Prix Results:
1 Shane Rooney
2 Anto Doran
3 Richie Barr
4 Ray Dunne
5 Clodagh Moriarty
6 Yvonne McDonagh
7 Karen McAffee
8 Dave Dunwoody
9 Deirdre Fitzsimons
10 Ciara O’Regan
11 Jean Dunne
12 Stephen Treacy
13 Philip Richards
14 Orla Deighan
15 Alex Eustace
16 Shane Casey
17 Declan Murray