Grand Prix: Doran wins 2nd Club Championship in succession

Liam Hennessy reports on The Grand Prix Series, Round 14. The 56th running (1964-2019) of the Clonliffe Harriers, Ahern Cup / Club 10 Mile Championship Race was held at Malahide on Saturday. The race was kindly sponsored by Maurice Ahern. The weather was so kind to us, dry, clear, 12 degrees; just perfect for distance running. At precisely 11am 35 runners toed the start line, instructions were given and the bugle sounded. It has to be noted that Maurice Ahern started in what was his 56th consecutive Clonliffe 10 Mile, which is an incredible record, so well done Maurice. It became clear from early on, that Sean Doran was in great shape, as he carved out a massive lead in the first few miles. Many runners used the race as an indicator of their fitness before running the Dublin Marathon. Sean DoranĀ  crossed the finish line well clear of the field in a superb personal best to retain the club championship. In the women’s race Aideen O’ Connor ran a lifetime best to also retain her club championship for a second year.
The result of the Race and Men’s Club Championship was as follows;
Winner – Sean Doran – Club Champion 2019
2nd Place – Shane Casey
3rd Place – Garreth Loye

The result of the Women’s Club Championship was as follows;
Winner – Aideen O’ConnorĀ  – Club Champion 2019
2nd Place – Rachel Eustace
3rd Place – Marie Howard

Full results as follows;
Sean Doran – 53.44
Shane Casey – 65.24
Garreth Loye – 65.31
Mick Bermingham – 65.57
Mick Gleeson – 67.31
Stephen Tracey – 67.33
Neil Farrell – 71.16
Tom Cassidy – 71.27
Aideen O’Connor – 71.37
Adrien Gerard – 72.06
Rachel Eustace – 72.32
Scott Crowley – 72.32
Greg O’Beirne – 72.41
Declan Murray – 73.18
Deirdre Fitzsimons – 74.12
Marie Howard – 75.52
Ollie Power – 75.52
Shane Rooney – 75.53
Mary Ketterer – 76.01
Declan Grant – 76.01
Aileen Henry – 76.52
Gerard Fay – 77.21
David O’Sullivan – 82.10
Pat Devitt – 84.07
Yvonne Mc Donagh – 85.19
Dave Hanley – 85.23
Tom Matthews – 87.12
Laura Mc Afee – 87.26

Many thanks to the huge number of stewards, who covered every corner of the course to ensure the race ran so smoothly.

Next Race:
Round 15 – Saturday, November 9th, Irwin Cup 6k Cross Country Race, Santry Demesne, 12 noon.