Grand Prix Finale this Saturday – the Horan Cup

The 2018 Grand Prix Series comes to a conclusion (already) this coming Saturday with the 110 year old Horan Cup. The Cup was presented to the club by Michael Horan, then a vice President of Clonliffe Harriers to be competed for in the 1907/1908 season and was first competed for 110 years ago and was won by Mr. T. Hassell with the fastest time for the six mile cross country course recorded by Mr. H. Mullally in a time of 38.07.

In that first running of the Horan Cup there were seventeen starters, on Saturday it is anticipated that there could be between 50 and 70 starters such has been the popularity of the Clonliffe Grand Prix Series.

The Grand Prix leader board currently shows Mick Gleeson in pole position on 315 points from Conor Jennings on 305 and Mick Bermingham on 292. The interesting thing, however, is that both frontrunners are currently showing 14 scores with Mick Bermingham showing 12 scores.  The significance of this being that it is only an athletes’ ten best results which count in the overall and it may be, therefore, that the ultimate 2018 champion will not even come from these three.

The 2017 series went right to the wire with Emma Dunne winning on 316 points from Declan Grant on 314 and Mick Bermingham 3rd on 313.

One thing which is certain is that the green jersey has been won by Sean Doran who with a race to go cannot be overtaken.

Saturday’s race takes place in Santry Demesne with a 12 noon start.

The winners will be announced at the presentation night in the club bar on Friday December 7th with the winner being presented with the Behan & Associates sponsored cup.

Current leaderboard: Grand Prix 2018 results after Rd 15