Grand Prix two to go: Horan Cup this Saturday

And then there were only two. Grand Prix Series 2015 will continue next Saturday November 7th at noon in Santry Demesne the Grand Prix Series continues with the Horan Cup. The Horan cup a 6 mile sealed handicap is one of the jewels in the crown of the Grand Prix Series, the race being well over 100 years old. In 1908 the Horan Cup was held for the first time, this was a trophy presented by the then vice President of the club Michael Horan Esq. From the seventeen starters that first year, the winner was T. Hassell, 2nd IE Ronan, 3rd JT Graham, 4th J. Bracken with the fastest time recorded by H. Mullally with a time of 38 minutes and 7 seconds.

The next and final round, the Irwin Cup, which will also include the Clonliffe Club Cross Country Championships will take place three weeks later on November 28th. This day will also be the day for the club juvenile cross country.