Grand Prix latest: McDonald Cup bagged by Aimee Ahern

Round 2 of the Clonliffe Harriers Grand Prix Series took place on the track in the Morton Stadium last night. The McDonald Cup is one of the historic Clonliffe Club Races dating all the way back to 1907. The original version of the race took place some 107 years ago in Clonee, County Dublin a 4 mile “flat” race for a cup presented by Mr. JJ McDonald and was won by J. Ironmonger, the 2014 version is now one of the early season Grand Prix Races and takes place, again over 4 miles, but on the track. Last nights keenly contested event was won by Aimee Ahern, winning her first club race for sometime. The presentation took place in the club bar, last night was the 40th anniversary of the night Clonliffe first opened it`s original bar (April 17th 1974).

McDonald Cup 2014

Presentation: Rachel Wisdom (sponsor) Aimee Ahern (Winner) Joe Cooper (Captain)

The race attracted an impressive turn out of athletes for the 16 lapper on a fine night for a race. In a first for a Grand Prix Series race there was use of the electronic clock, a most welcome development. There were  no less than 44 finishers lead home by prolific racer Tom Sherlock (22.11), after a great race with Sean Doran, who ran a 4.59 mile on Tuesday in the ALSSA series, and Ernie Ramsey, who finished 1, 2, 3 “on the road”.

The McDonald Cup itself is a handicap race and was won by Aimee Ahern, 2nd winner of the Grand Prix Series from a couple of years ago, Claud McMenamon and 3rd Dave Murtagh. Many thanks to race sponsors The Wisdom family,  Trevor and Rachel.

McDonald Cup Results (actual times)

Thomas Sherlock
Sean Doran 00:22:20
Ernie Ramsey 00:22:26
Clive Ahern 00:23:13
Conor Delaney 00:23:20
Dermot  Kelly 00:23:28
Colm Hickey 00:23:34
Eoin Keating (guest) 00:23:57
Joe Phipps 00:24:03
Denis Farrell 00:24:27
Shane Casey 00:24:39
Kevin Dowling 00:24:40
Richard Case 00:24:55
Ruairi Colbert 00:25:06
Rachel Wisdom 00:25:24
Fergus Keenan 00:25:42
John O’Leary 00:25:58
Gerry McCabe 00:26:08
Mo McCrohan 00:26:13
Bernie Byrne 00:26:17
Martin O’Brien 00:26:26
Colm McDonnell 00:26:29
Tom Monks 00:27:07
Dave Murtagh 00:27:26
Declan Murray 00:27:26
Trevor Wisdom 00:27:31
Noel Daly 00:27:44
Fergus Wheatley 00:27:53
Aimee Ahern 00:28:11
Emma Dunne 00:28:33
Clodagh Moriarty 00:28:42
Terry  Mee 00:28:53
Claude McMenamon 00:29:03
Mary Purdue-Smyth 00:29:04
Shay Byrne 00:29:07
Liam Hennessy 00:29:14
Conor Jennings 00:29:30
Martin Cavanagh 00:30:37
Richard Connolly 00:30:47
Sinead Smith 00:31:51
Dave Brady Raheny 00:32:21
Ciara Deegan 00:33:37
Elizabeth Kearns 00:33:48
Tom Flood 00:44:53