Grand Prix News: 10 Mile tomorrow Malahide, plus leaderboard

Tomorrow Saturday, October 13th, at noon in Malahide Castle grounds the 55th annual running of the club 10 mile championship incorporated into round 14 of the Grand Prix series takes place. This is the 3rd last race in the 2018 Grand Prix. The race was first run on the 12th of April 1964 a point to point 10 mile race from Murtagh’s pub on the Belfast Road down to the, as it then was, Clonliffe Harriers stadium in Santry.

Some 14 years later Ahern Cup which was first presented to the Club Champion back in April of 1978 by Maurice Ahern to that year’s winner Gerry Finnegan.

Last year`s winner was Sean Doran. The current leaderboard is: Grand Prix 2018 results after Rd 13

Saturday`s race will start from the usual 10 mile start position at 12.00, athletes are reminded that this is not a ‘closed road’ race so please be aware of other users of the Castle grounds.