Grand Prix News: Bissett wins Irwin Cup

On Saturday morning 11 November 2023, in the Trinity Sports Ground  Santry Avenue,  24 athletes took to the starting line for the Irwin Cup Cross Country Race.  Despite the excessive rain being experienced  in recent weeks the Trinity Grounds were in excellent condition for cross country running.  

The historic Irwin Cup cross country race dates from 1932 and commemorates, Bertie Irwin, one of the finest athletes to wear the black and amber. He held National track titles over 1 Mile and 4 Miles. In 1920 he became Clonliffe’s 5th Olympian making the 5000 Final in Antwerp finishing 12th

Continuing his current good, Sean Doran , finished first in a time of 22:50. There was a battle royal for second place between Peter Bissett and James Dunne. Peter shaded it in the end.  

The first woman  home in time of 29:25 was Eimear Griffin. 

The result of the Grand Prix was as follows: 

Peter Bissett 
David Hanley 
James Dunne 

A prize giving took place in the Clonliffe Club House after the race. Peter Bissett was presented with the Irwin Cup by Johnny O Leary and Liam Hennessey. Many thanks to Paddy Tuite for organising the refreshments. 

Next Race 

Date Time Event Distance Locations 
25/11/2023 11:30am Horan Cup 10km Abbotstown Sports Campus 

Result of 2023 Irwin Cup – Trinity Sports Ground – Saturday 11 November 2023 

Place First Name Surname Time 
Sean Doran 00:22:50 
Peter Bissett 00:23:27 
James Dunne 00:23:32 
Mick McMahon 00:24:14 
Mick Bermingham 00:26:48 
Richie Barr 00:27:05 
Shane  Rooney 00:28:07 
Dave Comiskey 00:28:24 
Declan Grant 00:28:40 
10 Alan Worral 00:29:09 
11 Philip Richards 00:29:11 
12 Diarmuid Doyle 00:29:23 
13 David Hanley 00:29:24 
14 Eimear Griffin 00:29:25 
15 Michael Stafford 00:29:26 
16 Niall Markey 00:29:27 
17 Laura Kernan 00:29:32 
18 Orla Deighan 00:30:01 
19 Declan Murray 00:30:14 
20 Joe  Fowler 00:30:48 
21 Colm Doran 00:30:56 
22 Yvonne McDonagh 00:31:16 
23 Pat Devitt 00:32:28 
24 Ciara O’Regan 00:34:06