Grand Prix News: Irwin Cup/Club XC C`ships 2018 Results

Report by Liam Hennessy; Round 15 of 16 in the Grand Prix Series saw almost fifty runners compete for one of our prized trophies, The Irwin Cup, which was kindly sponsored by Pat Devitt. The 6k Cross Country Race Incorporated the Club Cross Country Championship for Men and Women. The venue was The Santry Demesne. The weather was typical for cross country running with rain and softish ground in places underfoot. At precisely noon, instructions were given and the race started. Efrem Gidey took to the front early on and was quite impressive in winning the Mens title. Alannah Cooley similarly led throughout and won the Womens title. In the Grand Prix race there was a fierce battle being fought for both the Irwin Cup and Grand Prix points.

The result of the Club Cross Country Championship was as follows;

Mens Championship:

Cross Country Champion 2018 – Efrem Gidey

Runner up – Adam O’Brien

Third Place – Sean Carraig

Womens Championship:

Cross Country Champion 2018 – Alannah Cooley

Runner up – Aimee Ahern

Third Place – Clodagh Moriarty

The result of the handicap was as follows;

Winner of the Irwin Cup for 2018 – Declan Murray

Runner Up – Murray Ahern

Third Place – Shay Byrne

Full results as follows;

Efrem Gidey – 19.07

Adam O’Brien – 19.22

Sean Carraig – 20.29

Sean Doran – 20.48

Jack Maughan – 20.55

Jarleth Jordan – 21.15

Michael Cassidy – 21.44

Greg Hosseny – 22.08

Sean Connaughton – 23.02

Murray Ahern – 23.06

Peter Bissett – 24.00

Shane Casey – 24.01

Mick Bermingham – 24.13

Alannah Cooley – 24.15

Mick Gleeson – 24.18

Greg Deery – 24.29

Kevin Dowling – 25.10

Trevor Wisdom – 25.40

Aimee Ahern – 26.11

Stephen Tracey – 26.12

Clodagh Moriarty – 26.28

Declan Murray – 26.30

Mary Kettner – 26.31

Philip Matthews – 26.59

Declan Grant – 27.00

Laura Kernan – 27.18

George Maybury – 27.19

Deirdre Fitzsimons  Р27.32

Richie Barr – 27.36

Yvonne Mc Donagh – 28.16

Conor Jennings – 28.49

Alan Smeaton – 29.01

Orla Deighan – 29.02

Shay Byrne – 29.15

Karen Mc Afee – 29.34

Pat Devitt – 30.02

Colm Doran – 30.02

Mandy Mc Menamy – 30.15

Dave Lyons – 30.28

Anna Kavanagh – 30.32

Evelyn Brennan – 31.45

Guest – 33.22

Apologies if i misspelt any name above.

Many thanks to everyone who volunteered to help make this race run so smoothly. The points leaderboard will be updated as soon as possible.

Next Race: Saturday, November 24th at Santry Demesne at 12 noon, The Horan Cup, a 6 mile Cross Country Race (the oldest in our clubs history). The Horan Cup is the final race in the 2018 Grand Prix Series and it looks like we will see a ding dong battle in this, the last race of the series. What a journey we have had this year !!!. We started with The Frank White Cup, 5 mile track race on March 29th last. We have had Track, Road, Trail and Cross Country races and once again our series has been an amazing success. One race to go and the excitement is building !!!. Who will be crowned Grand Prix Winner 2018 ???. We would love to see a big turnout for our last race !!! Hope to see you there.

Most Important date for your diaries:

On Friday, December 7th at the Clubhouse from 9pm all Grand Prix Runners are cordially invited to “The Grand Prix Series 2018 Awards Night”. – Spread the word, the Grand Prix Committee request your presence on this date, so lets be having you for what will be a fab party night at the club. We look forward to seeing as many people as possible, so you have been given plenty of time to make arrangements to be there – No excuses !!!