Grand Prix News

Mick Kearney: The Clonliffe Harriers Grand Prix (CHGP) is a handicap competition. The handicapping system means that all runners have a chance of winning as the results are based on a runner’s improvement in performance rather than who is fastest.   The CHGP gives runners participating the opportunity to compete not only against colleagues but also against themselves and enhance their PBs in the process. To date a total of 5 events have been completed.  Winner of the latest races will be presented with their prizes this coming Thursday. The next event will be the 800 meters which takes in Morton Stadium on Thursday 2nd June 2022. Refreshments will be provided in the bar post-race. 

Point Classification 

The Points Classification for the first five races has now been finalised and is set out on the attached word document. It is very early days as yet and there is plenty of opportunities for athletes to pick up valuable points by competing in each event.  

Bib numbers 

Bib numbers have been introduced this year and are used for both Club Championships and the Grand Prix .  

CHGP athletes are allocated a bib number when they first compete and this number is used for the entire CHGP series. Athletes who only compete in the Club Championship are allocated a bib number for each race they compete in.  

Bibs are used for to facilitate a race check in and in the compiling of results. While there can be the occasional health warnings with results the use of Bibs to date has been very encouraging. 

Officials for races 

The CHGP Committee are very thankful to the Club members who officiate at  both Clonliffe Club Championship races and the CHGP Series. 

Grand Prix Held in 2021 

Due to the ongoing pandemic it was not possible to hold the regular Grand Prix Series in 2021,  nonetheless a modified competition was held and points were allocated where athletes took part in each event. We propose to announce the winners of the 2021 Race Series on Thursday 2 June 2022. 

Clonliffe Harriers Grand Prix Committee 2022 

The members of this year’s CHGP Committee are Pamela Cooper, Liam Hennessey, Noreen Keane, Caroline Tuite, Mick Kearney, Johnny O’LearyBen Lawler, and Paddy Tuite. 

Sponsorship of Series Races 

The CHGP Committee are very grateful to Club members who sponsor certain races. There are opportunities to sponsor future races and any Club member who would like to do so can contact any CHGP Committee member 

Individual Winners of GP Series for first 5 race 

  Frank White Cup 5 Mile 
Position First Name Surname 
Aideen  O’Connor 
Aisling  Andrews 
Anto  Doran 
  McDonagh Cup 4 Mile 
Position First Name Surname 
Alan Worrall 
Eoin  Rafter 
Dave  Commiskey 
  Bonass Cup 10K 
Position First Name Surname 
Alex  Eustace 
Declan  Murray 
Ciara O’Regan 
Position First Name Surname 
Joe Fowler 
Colm Doran 
Peter Bissett 
Position First name Surname 
Dave Hanley 
Colm Doran 
Shane Rooney