Grand Prix Round 2: McDonald Cup on Thursday

On Thursday the McDonald Cup, round 2 of the Grand Prix Series, sponsored by Trevor Wisdom takes place on the track in the stadium. Originally a 4 mile flat race held in Clonee in 1908, the McDonald Cup is now a 4 mile track race. The cup disappeared for a long number of years before being found in a basement in the early 1980s and then becoming a Grand Prix Race in 2001, and along with the Walker Cup neatly bookends the series with 4 mile track races.

Simon Smith 40 points
D.Faughan 39
Aisling Andrews 38
Shane Casey 37
Declan Grant36
Conor Keane 35
C O’Regan 34
Evelyn Brennan 33
Tom  Griffen 32
Shane Rooney 31
Sean Doran 30
Anto Doran 29
Niall O’Connor 28
Trever Wisdom27
Kevin Dowling26
Laura Kernan 25
Ann Lyons24
D.Hanley 23
Aimee Ahern 22
David O’Sullivan 21
Conor Jennings 20
Stephen O’Reilly 19
Sean Grimes 18,
Jim Keogh 17
Maurice Mc Crohan16
Stephen Treacy15
Tom Cassidy14
Niall Markey13
Mick Bermingham12
Terry Mee11
Declan Murray10
Richie Barr 9
Colm Mc Donnell 8
Deirdre Fitzsimons 7
Pat Devitt 6
Shea Byrne 5
Dave Brady4
Dave Lyons 3
Maurice McMorrow 2
Liam Hennissey 1