Grand Prixers back at it on Saturday for Horan Cup

The Grand Prix Series returns on Saturday with the Horan Cup in Santry a 6 mile handicap race on the country with a high noon start. The Horan cup a 6 mile sealed handicap is one of the jewels in the crown of the Grand Prix Series, the race being well over 100 years old. In 1908 the Horan Cup was held for the first time, this was a trophy presented by the then vice President of the club Michael Horan Esq. From the seventeen starters that first year, the winner was T. Hassell, 2nd IE Ronan, 3rd JT Graham, 4th J. Bracken with the fastest time recorded by H. Mullally with a time of 38 minutes and 7 seconds. 

The last round was the Ahern Cup held in Malahide on October 5th. Full results of that 10 mile  race are:

Darren Reilly 00:56:20
Sean Doran 01:02:14
Dermot Kelly 01:02:19
Ivan Eustace 01:02:26
Desie Shorten 01:02:40
Shane Casey 01:07:08
Ronan McDermott 01:07:33
Pat Byrne 01:07:33
John Fennell 01:07:36
Fergus Keenan 01:08:10
Mark Dowling 01:08:36
Jacqui Dunphy 01:08:39
Alex Eustace 01:08:55
Rachel Wisdom 01:09:53
Denis Collins 01:10:06
Kevin Dowling 01:10:30
Anthony O’Brien 01:12:04
Stephen Eustace 01:12:04
Robert Beckett 01:12:39
Richie Barr 01:12:48
Alison O’Sullivan 01:13:33
Deirdre Fitzsimons 01:13:45
Colm Doran 01:13:53
Colm Breen 01:14:07
Fergal O’Shea 01:14:14
Jim Keogh 01:14:44
Clodagh Moriarty 01:15:35
Terry Mee 01:15:55
Trevor Wisdom 01:17:23
Pat Healy 01:17:48
Karen Kinsella 01:17:52
Aimee Ahern 01:17:52
Brendan Donnelly jnr 01:18:26
Sinead Duffy 01:18:26
Pat Devitt 01:19:12
Pat Bonass 01:19:18
Aine McCann 01:22:12
Fiona Hayes 01:31:36
John Langan 01:31:55