Great night in Santry for ladies 50th & club c`ships

The track in the Morton Stadium was a joyful place indeed last night as the Clonliffe Harriers ladies section celebrated it`s 50th Anniversary. Back at the club`s AGM in October 1963 a Motion was passed establishing a ladies section. On the 17th of December the club held it`s very first ladies race, a 600 yard race won by Claire Dowling (Walsh). Fittingly that occasion was marked last night with a 600 yard race and to join in the celebrations were a number of those pioneering Clonliffe ladies including Claire Walsh who presented the prizes. There was a great turn out of Clonliffe athletes for the race, there were three races, all very well supported.

Clonliffe Founders

(Pioneering Clonliffe ladies)

clonliffe junior women

The Junior race. Winner Laura Tuite.

Clonliffe senior women

Senior race: Winner Becky Woods.

clonliffe master women

Master`s race: Winner Bernie Byrne

current womens section

All the Clonliffe ladies!  (pictures by Martin Treacy)

Results of ladies 50th 600yds July 4th:
Senior Women
Winner Becky Woods 1:31
2nd Sinead Harnet 1:33
3rd Roisin Leahy 1:34 
Junior Ladies
Winner Laura Tuite 1:31
2nd Alannah Cooley 1:34
Guest Eimer Treacy 1:35
3rd Lauren Carr 1:37
Master Women
Winner Bernie Byrne 1:47
2nd Alison O Sullivan 1:51
3rd Marie Byrne 1:51


The night also saw the first track and field club championships of the year. In the 100m the top three were: 1st Keith Pike, 2nd Paul Whelan, 3rd Isreal Ibeanu. In the 800m: 1st Tom Sherlock, 2nd David O`Hanlon, 3rd Greg Hosseny. High Jumo: 1st Andrew Heney, 2nd Paul Whelan, 3rd Isreal Ibeanu.

Finally on a busy night the Grand Prix Series continued with a series of very well supported 800m races. Full results of Grand Prix after the weekend.