Harko Harrier of the year

Jan 12, 2011 [Noel Guiden ] Clonliffe Harriers staged its inaugural club athletics awards for 2010, sponsored by LOKI SPORTS, last night in the club’s bar premises following the rescheduled Cake Races. Both events were extremely well supported in particular the athletics awards where a packed clubhouse was witness to presentations being made to various Clonliffe athletes who had set new club records and had been crowned national champions in 2010 followed then by the announcement of the winners in the various categories of awards which culminated in the announcement of a very popular choice of Stephen Harkness as the Clonliffe Harrier of the year for 2010.

There was a superb turnout of athletes for the two Cake Races, both races having been deferred from Christmas week due to adverse weather conditions. This did not in any way dampen the level of enthusiasm for both the women’s and men’s races which were being held for the second year over what has become a popular course from the gates of the stadium through a loop of Northwood and back to the stadium gates. The turnout in the ladies race was simply phenomenal with some 35 starters  it is not that long ago where a field of less than half a dozen would have been the norm. First home in the race was Joyce O’Hare with Becky Woods the fastest in a time of 16.03. The men’s race was also very well supported with some 40 starters and winning his first Clonliffe race was Gerard Kirwan with Stephen Harkness fastest in 14.27. The presentation to the winning men and women took place at 9 p.m. This was followed by a presentation of a cheque for €1,000.00 by the organisers of November’s Poker Classic Maeve Bergin and Brian McDonald to club treasurer Paddy Tuite.

Presentations were then made by the President of Clonliffe Harriers Paddy Marley to athletes who had set new club records in 2010:

John Fagan for his club 400 MH record of 52.58

David Donegan for his pole vault record (equalling the national record) of 5.00m

Tomas Rauktys for his club discus record of 52.34m

Brian Gregan on setting a new club 400m record on three separate occasions: 47.21, 46.65 and 46.21

4 x 400m Relay Squad: John Fagan, Ciaran Mackey, Brian Gregan and John Laffey (3.14.07)

In his absence presentation was made to Matt Field for club 110 MH record of 15.15.

Paddy Marley then made presentations to the 2010 National Champions:

David Donegan  Pole Vault

Tomas Rauktys  Discus

Sergiu Ciobanu  National Marathon (Sergiu, however, unfortunately was not at the event).

National Marathon Team Champion winners  Brian McMahon, Lorcan Cronin and Sergiu Ciobanu.

Proceedings then moved on to the highlight of the night which was the presentation of the club athletic awards which was generously sponsored by Loki Sports. The club secretary read the names of the three nominees in each category and gave a brief resume of those athletes achievements in 2010, the captain Joe Cooper then opened a sealed envelope and announced each winner who were presented with their perpetual cups to the acclaim of their clubmates. The recipients of each award were:

Junior athlete of the year – Patrick O’Connor – National Junior Indoor 60m silver, Leinster Junior Indoor 200m silver, All Ireland Schools 100m gold, All Ireland Schools 200m silver, Dublin U/18 100 and 200m gold, National U/18 100 and 200m gold, Tailtann Games athlete of the Meet – 100, 200m gold and 4 x 100 gold.

Master athlete of the year – Mags Greenan : O/50 European Master Mountain Running Champion and O/50 World Master Mountain Running Champion.

Women’s Track and Field Athlete of the year – Leah Moore : Leinster 100m gold, Dublin 200m silver, 4th in National Senior 200m, finalist in National 100m and scorer of valuable points throughout the National League.

Men’s Track and Field Athlete of the year – Brian Gregan : represented Ireland at World Indoor 400m in Doha, represented Ireland at European Championships Barcelona, set new club 400m record on three separate occasions lowering the record to 46.21.

Women’s Athlete Road/Cross Country of the year – Becky Woods : 14th National Senior Cross Country, 4th Dublin Senior Cross Country, 2nd U/23 National Intercounties and represented Ireland with distinction at European Cross Country in Portugal finishing 40th in the U/23 race.

Men’s Road/Cross Country Athlete of the year – Mark Kenneally : 6th in European Clubs Cross Country in Bilbao, National Cross Country Champion, Clonliffe’s first individual winner in fourteen years.

Clonliffe Harrier of the year – Stephen Harkness : always available for selection for any event at any distance, ran for Clonliffe in the league at various distances, ran for Clonliffe over cross country whenever called upon, an athlete always prepared to go the extra mile for his club.

This awards night proved to be a welcome addition to the club and will be held now on an annual basis. It was particularly pleasing to see such a crowd at the event across the whole range of athletic disciplines, track and field, middle and long distance, cross country runners, marathon runners, juniors, seniors and masters, coaches, administrators, supporters and many a �old dog for the hard road�. Many thanks to the selectors: Pamela Cooper, Peter McDermott, Bart Rogers, John Shiels and Jeremy Lyons. Thanks also to Caroline and Paddy Tuite who arranged and provided the catering on the night. A special word of appreciation to Loki Sports.