Irwin Cup results

Nov 14, 2011 [GP Committee] The following are the Grand prix results, points allocated and overall positions following the 6K XC Irwin cup race (kindly sponsored by Dominic Brannigan) which took place in Santry Demesne on Saturday last in ideal conditions on a sunny November afternoon.


We had another disappointing turnout of 12 runners of which three were guests. There were nearly more officials than athletes!! The race was a staggered start, Richie Barr heading off first, never to be caught and crossed the line first, Pat O’Rourke finished second with Colm Hickey third. Colm has cemented his place at the top of the leaderboard, but will also incur a penalty for the final race of the season. Colm leads by 8 points to Paddy Tuite who is also carrying a penalty into the last race. Philip O’Doherty put himself in pole position for the green jersey, he leads by three points, so it all goes down to the wire.


The next race is the last race in the series and it is the O’Connor cup, this will take place on 26th November in Santry Demesne. All grand prix members and guests alike should be encouraged to get the spikes out for the final race of the series and make the last race as competitive as possible. Please forward any suggestions you might have on the series to or to a member of the GP committee.


Thanks to all the race officials who helped out on the day


Grand prix results

First Name Surname Actual Predicted Diff Points

Name Actual Finishing Points Richard Barr 0:26:12 0:29:52 30 Pat O’Rourke 0:25:47 0:30:17 29 Orla Gormley (Guest) 0:23:49 0:30:59
John Frier (Guest) 0:24:44 0:31:19 Colm Hickey 0:21:18 0:31:28 28
Thomas Sherlock 0:21:42 0:31:32 27 Pat Healy 0:25:29 0:31:39 26
Darren Reilly(Guest) 0:20:22 0:31:47 Colm Breen 0:24:42 0:31:52 25
Eoin Murray 0:22:09 0:32:19 24 Philip O’Doherty 0:21:54 0:32:49 23
Mark Bermingham 0:22:09 0:33:04 22