Joe Fowler wins Clonliffe Grand Prix Series

Mick Kearney reports: After 17 races and 13 months of running the curtain was finally brought down on the 2022 Clonliffe Harriers Grand Prix Series with the presentation of prizes to the top six athletes last evening.   

This years’ Grand Prix Series was extremely competitive with only 8 points separating the first four athletes. It all came down to the last race, the Walker Cup 4 mile.  

This year’s overall champion is Joe Fowler with 343 points just edging out his running buddy Philip Richards with 342 points.  

As Joe Fowler was unable to attend the presentation, the Noel Guiden Senior Memorial Cup was presented by Stephen Bateson, to Joe’s coach Pamela Cooper.  The GP Committee are grateful to Noel Guiden for his continuous sponsorship of the overall Series together including the Night of Miles. 

The other prize winners on the night were Colm Doran in third with 337 points, Jean Dunne in fourth place with 335 points, Ray Dunne in fifth with 326 points and Shane Rooney in sixth with 324 points.   

Presentations were also made to the winners of the Night of Miles and the Walker Cup (details below). A presentation was made to Lee Duddy who had the fastest time in the Walker Cup, 23:38 and Pat Devitt in respect of 2nd place in the 2021 GP. 

Congratulations to all prize winners. 

The Grand Prix Committee are grateful for all the athletes who took part in the Series, the Club coaches for their assistance and the many club members who officiated at the 17 races. The Committee are also thankful for the many sponsors of the various races. 

2023 Series commences Thursday 13 April  

No sooner does one Series end and another commences. The first race of the new Series takes place this Thursday 13th April 2023 at 8.00pm in the ALSAA track, Dublin Airport. The race is the Frank White 5 mile. Application forms will be available for completion at the Clonliffe Club House this coming Tuesday 11th April, 2023 from 7pm to 8.30pm. Entry costs €30 for 16 races. Forms are also available from Club coaches.  Entries for the Frank White 5 mile are required by 9pm on Tuesday 11 at 9pm. 

2022 Grand Prix Series – Top 10 athletes 

Position First Name Surname Category Points 
Joe Fowler 343 
Philip  Richards 342 
Colm Doran 337 
Jean  Dunne 335 
Ray Dunne 326 
Shane  Rooney 324 
Ciara O’Regan 323 
Orla Deighan 322 
Declan Grant 309 
10 Peter  Bisset 307 

Night of Miles – Winners 

Position First name Surname 
Jake Kiernan 
Jean Dunne 
George Brady 

Walker Cup  4 Miles – Winners 

Position First name Surname 
Jean  Dunne 
Alex  Eustace 
Philip Richards