John Fay confirmed Grand Prix Champion 2006

Nov 6, 2006 [N. Guiden] After seventeen races commencing on the country at the start of Spring and finishing on the country at the start of winter with visits to far flung places such as Ballyboughal, Malahide and Glasnevin the 2006 Grand Prix Champion is Clonliffe’s John Fay. A season long battle between John Fay and close rivals Ray McConville and Phillip O’Doherty saw John Fay take the lead at the end of the Summer and he had defended the yellow jersey with distinction since then and he proved to be a very popular winner when presented with the Noel Guiden Senior Memorial Cup at the presentation dinner held in Clonliffe’s club bar on Saturday night.

In second place in the Grand Prix was Ray McConville on 169 points, Phillip O’Doherty was 3rd on 166.6, Shay Byrne 4th 165.5, Stephen Byrne 5th 164.5 and Tom Monks 6th on 152 points.

There was a superb club night held on Saturday with an extremely nice buffet dinner of poached salmon salad, chicken a la king with rice or both (!) washed down with copious amounts of wine, chosen and served by our wine waiter one David Brennan.

After the dinner was consumed with gusto by the seventy or so guests in attendance, the first of the evenings presentations was made by Club captain Joe Cooper to the first three in the Club Ten Mile Championship, Tom Griffin, Tom Monks and Phillip O’Doherty.

The presentation was then made for the Horan Cup held two weeks previously by race sponsor Colm Brennan to fastest man in that race, Phillip O’Doherty, 3rd place Alan Smeaton, 2nd place Pat Bonass and race winner and new Clonliffe member Terry Mee.

The prizes were then presented to the winners in the O’Connor Cup. Unfortunately race sponsor John Bourke was ill and was unable to attend, however, he was ably represented by Paddy-Joe Harden. The winners were David Brady 1st, Stephen Byrne 2nd and Kieran Murphy 3rd. The O’Connor Cup was then presented to the winner of the race itself, David Brennan.

Clonliffe Club President, Paddy Marley then made the presentation of prizes to the top ten in the Grand Prix, in addition to the top six set out above 7th was Jeremy Walsh, 8th Tony Kiernan, 9th Alan Smeaton and 10th Maurice McCrohan. Pat Bonass outlined to the attendants the history of the Clonliffe Grand Prix Series pointing out that the idea of the Grand Prix Series had arose out of discussion between himself, yours truly and Noel Guiden Senior in Chief O’Neill’s after the Dublin marathon on the 30th of October 2000, the idea of the Grand Prix was effectively born that day, Noel Guiden Senior passed away in May of this year and it was with great pride and indeed gratitude that I got to make the presentation of the Memorial Cup to our worthy Grand Prix champion John Fay.

A superb evening was had by all concerned finishing up with several points of porter and music and dancing until the wee hours.