Julian O Connor wins the McCarrick Plate

Mick Kearney: The third race in the Clonliffe Harriers Grand Prix Series took place on Thursday evening 2nd May 2024. The weather conditions were favourable and the event attracted a very large field, some 70 runners.

The race was run as an open handicap with competitors starting at different times. The start times varied from zero for the first runner. The final runner (backmarker) started a full 7 minutes later.

The winner of the handicap was Julian O’Connor (Coolock AC). In second place was David Hanley and in third was Mick McMahon.  Congratulations to all three. All 70 runners completed the course. 

The order the runners finish in an open handicap determines how GP points are allocated. The finishing order of runners is attached to this report.

Our race sponsor on the night was Maurice McCrohan just back from competing in the Budapest Half Marathon. Following the race Maurice presented prizes to the first three athletes, Julian O Connor, Dave Hanley and Mick McMahon.

The Grand Prix Committee would like to thank all who competed on the night . Thanks to our sponsor Maurice McCrohan,  those that officiated at the finish and around the course. 

There will be a change to the scheduled dates for the next two Grand Prix races the 800m and 1500m. 

The races were scheduled to take place on the 14th and 16 May. These will now take place later in the month of May and details of the rescheduled dates will be advised shortly.

Result of McCarrick Plate: