McMahon triumphs in Night of Miles

Mick Kearney: race report – Grand Prix Night of Miles – Thursday 17 August 2023 : one of the highlights of the Grand Prix Series, the Night of Miles, took place in Morton Stadium on Thursday evening 17 August 2023. The event is kindly sponsored by Noel Guiden, Club Captain. 28  runners assembled for two exciting mile races.  

Nine runners took to the track for the first race. Sean Doran led from the start finishing in 00:04:46. There was a great battle for second place between Mick McMahon and Niall Sherlock . Niall eventually came home second in 00:04:59 with Mick third in 00:05:01. 

In the second race nineteen runners went to post. Ray Dunne was the clear winner in 00:05:06 with Fergal O’Shea holding second place throughout in 00:05:29. Declan Grant and Joe Fowler battled for third place with Declan triumphing in 00:05:54.  

In the post-race reception Liam Hennessey announced the winners of the Grand Prix competition. On this occasion Mick McMahon came first in a time of 00:05:01. In second place was Laura Kernan in a time of 00:06:35. In third place was Peter Bissett in a time of 00:05:03.  Liam concluded by thanking Noel Guiden for sponsoring the event and Caroline Tuite for providing refreshments. He also paid tribute to the many Club members who officiate at GP events. 

Upcoming GP Races 

Date Event 
07/09/2023 5000m 
28/09/2023 10000m 

Grand Prix Night of Miles Results 

Race 1  GP Mile     
Place First Name Surname Time 
Sean Doran 00:04:46 
Niall Sherlock 00:04:59 
Mick McMahon 00:05:01 
Peter Bissett 00:05:03 
Robbie Dowling 00:05:08 
Dave Dunwoody 00:05:20 
Dave Comiskey 00:05:33 
Paddy Devitt 00:05:43 
Eoin Rafter 00:06:10 
Race 2 GP Mile     
Place First Name Surname Time 
Ray Dunne 00:05:06 
Fergal O’Shea 00:05:29 
Declan Grant 00:05:54 
Joe  Fowler 00:05:56 
Diarmuid Doyle 00:06:12 
Philip Richards 00:06:13 
Gerard Walsh 00:06:21 
Orla Deighan 00:06:24 
Laura Kernan 00:06:35 
10 Dave Reilly 00:06:46 
11 Colm Doran 00:06:51 
12 Deirdre Fitzsimons 00:06:53 
13 Aideen O’Connor 00:07:00 
        14George Maybury 00:07:02 
15 Karen McAffee 00:07:07 
16 Pat Devitt 00:07:14 
17 Jason Kernan 00:07:25 
18 Pat  Healy 00:07:37 
19 Shey Byrne 00:08:45