Monks prayers answered

In perfect conditions The Michael Murphy Memorial 5 Mile Race took place in the grounds of Malahide Castle last night. A still, hot evening with the sun still high in the sky greeted the athletes on what is one of the highlights of the club season .Welcome shade was provided amongst the trees which line the route of this Summer Classic. Round 7 of the 2006 Grand Prix Series was incorporated in the race which saw an entry of 28 athletes including a number of our ladies section fresh after there exertions around the street of Dublin in Monday`s Ladies 10K. Once again Michael Murphy`s family, including his mother and sister were in attendance for the race and presentation on this the 25th running of the race in memory of a young Clonliffe Harrier who died tragically in the States back in very early `80s.

This race is run on an open H`cap basis , essencially a staggered start. First away was Maurice Mullens , followed by the rest of the field down to scratch man and collector of PBs , “The Beard” Brennan.

After the first of 2 laps , the field was begining to close up, a good finish was on the cards. Tom Monks was motering nicely. Stephen Byrne ,having been caught and passed by yours truely , was not prepared to bow and instead had the cheek to re pass and proceed to run the legs off me! Also having a superb run was another product of the Clonnakilty production line Stephen Cleary who was making up ground hand over fist.

The Yellow Jerseyed Philip O`Doherty was again in good form on his run from the back, needless to say so was “The Beard”.

All the while Maurice Mullens remained in the lead making steady progress, Pat Bonass ,Marice Ahern and Pat Healy were all over hauled over the last mile or so by Tom Monks going like a train.

First accross the line, and first Grand Prixer was Maurice Mullens, with Shay Byrne 2nd and Eddie Harrison 3rd.

In the Mick Murphy race first Clonliffe man and a very popular winner was Tom Monks who was presented with the Cup by President Paddy Marley inMalahide Cricket Club. Tom would later comment that ” this was the club race I always wanted to win”.

Fastest man was “the Beard” ,who was out for an easy one, we must assume on the basis of his failure to run a new PB !


1. M. Mullens (40.48) 20pts in Grand Prix

2. Shay Byrne (32.28) 19

3. E. Harrison (32.28) 18

4. T. Monks (29.01) 17

5. Stephen Byrne (29.26) 16

6. R. McConville (36.04) 15

7. N. Guiden (29.23) 14

8. S. Brennan (37.03) *

9. P. Healy (35.38) 13

10. S. Cleary (28.41) 12

11. Mce. Ahern (39.39) 11

12. D. Brady (37.22) 10

13. P. Bonass (34.02) 9

14. P. Devitt (32.09) 8

15. A. Worrall (30.41) *

16. J. Walsh (29.15) 7

17. D. Brennan (28.04) 6

18. Murray Ahern (33.08) *

19. P. O`Doherty (28.41) 5

20. C. Hanley (35.10) *

21. C. Troy (36.11) *

22. A. Smeaton (33.32) 4

23. J. Fay (34.24) 3

24. S. Pender (37.19) 2

25. R. Connolly (39.08) 1

26. P. Cooper (42.43) *

27. Aurelie (47.24) *

28. E. McCarrick (31.23) *

( * = not a competitor in Grand prix Series)

Thanks to our race officials, The Murphy family and our friends in Malahide Cricket Club.

Next Grand Prix Race is Thursday 22nd June also in Malahide for the two and a half mile ( one Lap) sponosored by Eugene McCarrick.

Full updated Leaderboard to follow.