Monks takes Mick Murphy win

The current Grand Prix Series continued with the Mick Murphy 5 Mile on Thursday evening the 18th May 2023 in Malahide Castle Demesne. This was the 44th year that the race has taken place. 

The first winner of this race, two laps of the Castle grounds, was Michael Murphy in 24.02. Michael tragically died in an accident a year or so later and the race was named in his honour with his family providing a memorial cup. 

Sean Doran, returning to form, had the fastest time of 28:16. The fastest lady was Rachel McFadden in a time of 32:13. 

The winner of the Mick Murphy Memorial Cup was that great Malahide stalwart Tom Monks. In second place was Trevor Wisdom with Tim Laurent in third. Many thanks to all who participated and officiated on the night. A full race result is below.

The post-race prize giving took place in Malahide Cricket Club where the President, Barbara McDonald, extended a warm welcome to Clonliffe Harriers. This was the 40th year that this wonderful venue has been used for the race presentation. 

Next race 

The fifth race in the current Series will take place in Santry Demesne on the 1st June 2023. This will be the O’Connor Cup, 4 miles on grass. 

Points Table 

A points table showing the Grand Prix position after four races will issue next week. 

Mick Murphy Race Result 2023 

First Name Last Name Time 
Sean Doran 00:28:16 
Ray  Dunne 00:29:32 
Stephen  Treacy 00:30:33 
Mick McMahon 00:30:39 
Peter Bissett 00:31:33 
Tim Laurent 00:31:33 
Eamonn O’Neill 00:32:06 
Rachel McFadden 00:32:13 
Mick Bermingham 00:32:22 
Fergal O’Shea 00:32:45 
Eoin Rafter 00:33:43 
Mick Gleeson 00:33:56 
Shane Rooney 00:34:18 
Tom  Monks 00:34:21 
Declan Grant 00:34:26 
Julie Larkin 00:34:38 
Dave Commiskey 00:34:54 
Joe Fowler 00:35:07 
John  Torsney 00:35:45 
Alan Worral 00:36:02 
Diarmuid Doyle 00:36:04 
Philip Richards 00:36:23 
Trevor Wisdom 00:36:51 
Carl  Fleming 00:37:08 
Colm Doran 00:37:34 
Kevin  Sheedy 00:37:38 
Niall Markey 00:38:25 
Declan  Murray 00:39:17 
Yvonne McDonagh 00:39:34 
Dermot Breslin 00:40:22 
Clodagh Moriarty 00:40:25 
Philip Matthews 00:40:43 
Aideen O’Connor 00:41:09 
Ciara Daly 00:41:56 
Caroline Daly 00:42:15 
Deirdre Fitzsimons 00:42:27 
Alan Smeaton 00:42:37 
Evelyn  Brennan 00:43:00