Morton Mile Facts and Figures

As today we mark the 50th anniversary of the first Morton Memorial Mile, see previous posting from Dominic Branigan, we set out some facts and figures which you may find of interest:

1st Morton Memorial Mile August 10th, 1970 was won by Kip Keino (KEN) 3.59.20

The most recent winner was Robert Domanic (USA) on August 21st, 2019 3.58.90.

In the 50 years since 1970 the Morton Mile has been held on 36 occasions.

The Morton Mile record & Morton Stadium record is 3.51.82, Will Leer (USA) on July 11th, 2014.

The most prolific winners with 3 each are Steve Scott (USA), 1979, 1980, 1981 and Will Leer 2010, 2012, 2014.

There have been 149 sub 4 minute miles recorded in the Morton Mile.

The most sub 4’s recorded in the one race was 12 in 2017.

The 100th Morton Mile sub 4 was recorded by Hamish Carson (NZD) July 11th, 2014.

The country with most Morton Mile wins is the USA with 14.

The Morton Mile has been won by Irish athletes on 12 occasions.

There have been 3 Clonliffe winners: Frank Murphy 1971, Dave Taylor 1987, Niall Bruton 1999.

The next Morton Mile will be held on July 9th, 2021.

1st Morton Mile, August 10th, 1970
36th, and most recent, Morton Mile, August 21st, 2019.
Robert Domanic (USA), current Morton Mile Champion