Murray in a hurry takes McDonald Cup victory

Eoin Murray reports.

The second race of the 2015 Grand Prix series took place last night, in chilly but decent conditions for running, on the track.  The athletes competing for the McDonald cup over 4 miles on the track.

Thanks to Maurice Ahern for measuring the 4 miles, he added a new piece to his repertoire by telling those on the starting line, it is the only 4 mile track race in Ireland and therefore by definition the only accurate 4 mile race. It is not just the 5 mile race!!

The race was very generously sponsored by the Wisdoms, Trevor and Rachel who managed to run a PB knocking a significant chunk off her previous best.

Tom Sherlock led from pillar to post as he stretched the field from the off, to win comfortably in 21.37. The winner in the Grand Prix was Declan Murray, with Dave Dunwoody second and Terry Mee in third place.

Thanks also to all the officials who gave up their time on a chilly night to ensure the race went ahead. Thanks as always to Caroline for the tea, coffee, cake and biscuits. Thanks again to the Wisdom’s for sponsoring the race.

Next race is 30th April, a 3k race on the track again at 8.00.

Results as follows

Thomas Sherlock 00:21:37
Ernie Ramsey 00:22:14
Sean Doran 00:22:27
Conor Keane 00:23:10
Dave   Dunwoody 00:23:22
Damian Kelly (guest) 00:23:29
Michael McSwigan 00:23:59
Richard Case 00:24:01
Kevin Dowling 00:24:11
Dermot Kelly 00:24:23
Tom Monks (guest) 00:24:28
Eoin Murray 00:24:33
Rachel Wisdom 00:24:36
Denis Farrell 00:25:15
Dave O’Regan 00:25:25
Jim Keogh 00:25:47
Liam Hennessy 00:25:55
Ken Ryan 00:25:58
Alan Worrall 00:26:02
John O’Leary 00:26:03
Richie Barr 00:26:20
John Fennell 00:26:40
Brian McCann 00:27:00
Trevor Wisdom 00:27:01
Frank McCarthy 00:27:06
Mary Harte 00:27:11
Declan Murray 00:27:15
Clodagh Moriarty 00:27:19
Pat Devitt 00:27:39
Gaetan Meister 00:27:46
Emma Dunne 00:27:57
Sinead Duffy 00:28:08
Aimee Ahern 00:28:15
Karen Kinsella 00:28:18
Terry   Mee 00:28:32
Shay Byrne 00:28:36
Niall Markey guest 00:28:54
Anna Kavanagh 00:28:55
Deirdre Fitzsimons 00:29:00
Pat Bonass 00:29:04
Conor Jennings 00:30:22
Paula Kirrane 00:30:41
Sinead Smith 00:30:46
AN Other 00:31:00
Jason Blake 00:31:10
Jennifer Lyons (guest) 00:31:25
Lorraine Sherwood 00:31:35
Richard Connolly 00:33:06
Jim bennett 00:33:27
Dave Brady Raheny 00:34:21