National XC Important Information

Clonliffe are hosting the national cross country in Santry on Sunday next November 21. Please note that in order to assist Athletics Ireland with the hosting of the event all our training on Sunday morning has been suspended. There is no access to Morton Stadium for training this Sunday. The stadium is effectively closed save for officials car parking and for check-in etc. car parking in Morton Stadium is for volunteers and officials only. Car parking for competitors and spectators is available at Trinity sports grounds, Gulliver’s Retail Park and Santry Omni Plex. Please also note that the event organisers, (not Clonliffe Harriers), have designated the event admission by ticket only. Online tickets can be purchased from Athletics Ireland :

A huge thank you to the club members who have volunteers to assist with stewarding of the event. Below you will see the positions for all volunteers. If you have volunteered but your name does not appear on this list, apologies for this and you might contact Noel Guiden direct on 0879599888. There are jobs for all! All Clonliffe volunteers who are working on the event should park in the Clonliffe side of Morton Stadium. The course builders will be working from Saturday at 12 noon and then on Sunday morning from 8 AM. All other stewards and volunteers should similarly Park in the Clonliffe car park by 9:45 AM and meet Declan Power who will be filling the role of chief steward on the day at 10 AM sharp. All volunteers must wear a hi viz top, if you have one please bring it with you, if not Declan will give you one on the morning. Volunteers are also requested to wear face coverings at all times and to bring hand sanitiser.

National Cross Country Volunteers:

Course builders Sat 20th from 12.00pm/Sun 21st 8.00am: Noel Guiden, Stephen Bateson, Paddy Marley, Stephen Harkness, John O’Leary, Mick Fogarty, Ben Lawler, Mick Kearney, Kevin Sheehy, Tom Griffin, George Maybury, Paddy Tuite, Gerry Cullen, Gerry Carr, Noel Cullen, Sean Callan

10.00 stewards/other volunteers to meet at clubhouse reporting to Declan Power.

Event controller: George Maybury

Chief steward: Declan Power

1050/1550 loop switch: Ben Lawler, Tom Monks, Alan Curley

1050/1200 loop switch: Kevin Sheehy, Peter Bissett, Shane Caffrey, (first two races only and then to close loop and dismantle 1200 loop)

End of start straight/joining with lap: Stephen Harkness, Niall Markey, Mick McMahon

Lap counter/finish turn: Tom Griffin, Mick Kearney

Finish line area for fallers: Eugenia Bateson, Laura Kernan, Paul Keenan, Dermot Faughnan

Start assembly area: Pat O’Keeffe, Murray Ahern, Joseph Cooper

Path course crossover points (9 in all): Peter Cahill, Mel Curran, Roisin Hickey, Melissa Morrisey, Des Kenny, Danny Collins, Orla Deignan, Ciara Faherty, Ciara O’Regan, Edel Maguire, Karen McAlfee, Ger Clerkin, Aisling Killelea, Geraldine Halpin, Yvonne McDonagh, Emma Cooper

Spectator/athlete crossover points (at monument and at Club tents) : Pat Bonass, Maurice Ahern, Frances Mansfield, Declan Grant, Mick Gleeson, Colm McDonnell, Noel Cullen.

General stewards: Ann Murray, Mary Ketterer, Maurice McHale, all others on the day, (plus after 2 races )Kevin Sheehy, Peter Bissett, Shane Caffrey


Course Map:

Details of the Clonliffe teams competing will be posted over the coming days.