Latest News

Weekend catch up overseas

A few Clonliffe athletes were in action overseas this weekend. Steve Flanagan clocked a new 3000 pb in Boston of 8.27.93. At the Barcelona Half Marathon Barbara Sanchez ran 1.16.27 and Garrett Loy 1.23.27.

More Dublin indoor titles taken back to Santry

Another day another Dublin juvenile championship day. Today was day 4 of the indoor championships once again at NIA Abbottstown. Again quality performances from the young Clonliffe athletes with standout performances in particular from: Katie Halpin who won the U/18 1500, Laimis Norvaisas who won the boys U/13 shotput (9.98m), in the girls U/14 high jump bronze was won by Kate Campbell (1.40), taking silver to add to her high jump gold and 200 bronze, completing the set today was Emma McDonnell in the U/18 400.

Other quality performances included a real gutsy 1500 from Naoise Cullen to take fourth place, and inches away from bronze, in the U/17 girls race. In the U/19 1500 a tired Sarah Bateson was well off her best (exams and athletics is not a great mix!).

Later in the afternoon Val Stroganvous made it a sprint double taking U/18 60 gold. Christain B took U/19 bronze. In the U/17 girls 60 Sally Sumola continued to gather in the medals taking silver today. Alex Twomey took girls U/18 bronze and in U/14 girls 60 Ava Usanova also took bronze. A fine run also by Keith Burke in the U/17 60 to place 4th.

Harriers whip up an Abbotstown Storm..

The Clonliffe meet and train group were out in Abbotstown this morning for the 4th Meet and Train race of the year at the National Cross Country Course. Elaine McLoughlin continued her fantastic season with a 3rd place finish. (Full report below)

On a bitterly cold Sunday morning, the Meet and Train Ladies XC teams went head to head with Storm Denis. This was the final race in the series with all to play for. With the clouds darkening, rain was inevitable. Right on cue, the rain poured as the ladies took on the three lap course. It may have only been two miles, but they had to contend with icy winds, waterlogged grass and hills. Harriers they are and not snowflakes so from the off, Elaine McLoughlin settled in nicely and held 4th place for a bit. Next up was Emma Byrne picking up speed each lap. Orla Deighnan powered up the hills having really developed her XC elbows. Anne Lyons and Rachael McBride were hot on the pursuit along with Yvonne McDonough, Cathy Dowling and Catherine Dempsey. With a wave to the fans Nollaig Donohue, Susan Kelly, Evelyn Brennan and Janette Reid all dug in deep, picking off their competitors. The storm troopers out in force, Ciara, Mel and Mary cheered on Elaine as she moved into 3rd position powering up the hill on the 2nd lap. Emma seeing her move, pushed on fiercely and so followed the rest of the team. On the final lap, we seen the ladies determination and strength come out. With a 100m to go, Elaine fiercely battled to keep a Sports World athlete at bay. Denis proved no menace as Elaine crossed the line in 3 rd position. Emma finished a strong 23rd and many of the ladies noted they had saved the best for last. All will be revealed as to which clubs finished in the top rankings. The ladies really did “whip” up a storm as there were cakes, buns and bracks galore. True competitors, it turned into a bake off! There really is nothing like cake to get them to run faster. Massive thank you to Yvonne for all the organising, to the M&T train organisers for a very enjoyable series and all our fans/supporters especially Ciara Peelo. Until next time…

Doran wins ALSAA XC

Sean Doran took the win in the latest BHAA cross country race in ALSAA this morning over 5 miles. Dave Brady was 11th and Maurice McCrohan 56th.

Marks wins Varsities Long Jump title

While all around was being rattled by storm Denis the IUAA Varsities Indoors was taking place in AIT Athlone. There were only a handful of Clonliffe athletes in action. Keith Marks took yet another title winning the long jump with a best of 6.98m. Stephen Cashin had a fine run in the 3000 placing 4th with a pb of 8.57.03, while Alannah Cooley finished down the field in the 1500 in 5.05.4.

Young Harriers do the business at Dublin Indoors

The Dublin Indoor Juvenile Championships continued at the NIA Abbotstown this afternoon. Selected results: Emma McDonnell U/18 High Jump gold and 200 bronze, Keith Burke U/17 Long Jump gold with Sally Somula doing likewise in the girls I/17 long jump, Val Stroganvous U/18 200 gold, William Walsh U/14 800 silver.

Other fine performances on the day included Kate Campbell 5th U/14 800, Sally Somula 5th U/17 200 final. (Coaches text results to 0879599888)

Message of thanks from the Leinster Schools

On behalf of Leinster Schools a very sincere thanks to you and your Clonliffe team for your input into ensuring a great cross country event at Santry Demesne yesterday. Quite a number  of people spoke most glowingly about the well designed and taped course. So well done Clonliffe.Can I ask you, pencil in 11th February 2021.

Kind Regards, Michael Hunt.

Doyler goes sub 14 in Armagh

Outstanding runs tonight at the Armagh International by the Clonliffe contingent with Cathal Doyle having another breakthrough performance but tonight over 5K with a highly impressive 13.57 to finish a superb 20th. In 26th was Colin Rooney (not Ian Guiden) also running a PB of 14.03. A quality run also by Karl Nolan (15.40). In the 3K race Mark McDonald recorded a time of 9.30 in 55th place.

Karl: “Next time lads let’s bring two of these babies each!”

U/14 girls win Dublin 4 x 200 Indoors

Graham Mahon Reports: Completing a very busy day’s activities for Clonliffe Harriers were the Juvenile Relay 4 x 200 squads at this evening’s Dublin juvenile indoor Championships in Abbottstown. The U/14 girls team successfully defended their U/13 Dublin title from 2019 winning the final by the tightest of margins. The team was Sarah McDonnell, Kate Campbell, Rebecca Walsh and Ava Usanova. The U/14 boys (Jack McDonnell, Charlie Duffy, Jaydon Carroll and Jake Kane) won their heat and in a competitive final finished fifth. Fifth place also for the use/18 girls (Kristen McGrady-Hogan, Sally Sumola, Blaise and Alex Twomey).

Phillips sets new club Indoor 60 record

Jeremy Phillips set a new club indoor record at tonight’s big AIT Indoor Grand Prix in Athlone over 60m. Jeremy recorded a new PB and club record of 6.79 in his heat and then equaled that record an hour or so later in the final. Former record holder Leo Morgan ran 6.97 in his heat, while Keith Pike ran 7.07.


Get the Facebook Likebox Slider Pro for WordPress