Nosipho Mjiyako wins the McDonald Cup

Mick Kearney reports: The Clonliffe Harriers Grand Prix Series continued on Thursday night the 11 April in Morton Stadium. On this occasion it was the McDonald Cup 4 Mile race.

Not since 1907, when the race was first run, was there as many competitors. A total of 78 athletes both started and finished this historical race on the famous Morton track. 

On this occasion the McDonald Cup was won by a very popular and well deserved athlete Nosipho Mjiyako from Clonliffe Harriers. In second place was Julian O’Connor from Coolock AC.  Bren Pollard of Clonliffe Harriers was third. Congratulations  to all three.

The fastest time of the night was recorded by Anthony Brady of Coolock AC who completed the race in 21.55. His fellow club athlete David Gibbons was second in 22.56 with Niall Sherlock of Clonliffe Harriers in third in 23.10.

Clonliffe ladies captured the first three places. Aisling Andrews posted a time of 27.26 with Maura Matthews coming second in 27.31 followed by Sinead McDermott in 28.23.


The Grand Prix Committee would like to thank all the Club coaches and athletes who facilitated the holding of the race at short notice. The Committee would also like to thank the club members who officiated on the night.