Red hot Doran wins Frank White 5

Race report – Liam Hennessy: Thursday, 31st March marked the commencement of the Clonliffe Harriers Grand Prix Series for 2022 with the running of The Frank White Memorial Cup 5 Mile Track Race at Morton Stadium. The Weather showed 7 degrees and clear. There was a sense of excitement that we had a Grand Prix Series actually happening after such an emotional few years of Covid. A sizeable group of athletes were called to the line and the race was off. From the start, Sean Doran was intent on taking out the pace, followed by Anto Doran with Mick Mc Mahon, Ray Dunne and George Brady were in close pursuit. Within a lap the entire field was strung out with many small groups working together. There were plenty of officials on hand, counting laps remaining for the large number of runners. As the race continued and in to the late stages Sean Doran took a commanding lead to finish in a fine time of 25.20, two clear laps ahead of second place finisher Anto Doran who recorded a time of 28.04 with Mick Mc Mahon finishing in third place in a time of 29.46.

 On behalf of the Grand Prix Committee we would like to thank the Club President, Paddy Marley, Club Captain, Noel Guiden and the many officials who attended to make this race happen. And thanks to the runners who competed. 

Next Grand Prix Race for your diary – Thursday, 14th April – Mc Donald Cup – 4 Mile Track Race, Morton Stadium.

Frank White 5 Mile Results:

PlaceFirst NameSurnameTime
1Sean Doran       25.20 
2Anto  Doran       28.04 
3Mick McMahon       29.46 
4Ray Dunne       29.50 
5George Brady       30.10 
6Steve  Barnes       30.57 
7Mick Birmingham        31.47 
8Eamonn  O’Neill       31.57 
9Murray Ahern       32.02 
10Kevin Dowling       32.05 
11Shane Casey       32.15 
12Tommy Griffin       32.23 
13Rachel McFadden       32.41 
14Desie Shorten       32.44 
15SiobhanDevaney       33.17 
16Marie  Howard       33.21 
17Philip Matthews       33.30 
18Richard Barr       33.35 
19Declan  Grant       33.49 
20Dave  Commiskey       34.11 
21ShaneRooney       34.19 
22Sean Grimes        34.30 
23Aisling Andrews        35.02 
24EmmaDunne       35.32 
25Aimee Ahern       36.48 
26AideenO’Connor       37.08 
27DeclanMurray       37.10 
28Colm McDonnell       37.53 
29Clodagh Moriarity       38.10 
30David O’Sullivan       38.22 
31Paula Prunty (Hogan)       38.24 
32Joe Fowler       38.49 
33Jean Dunne       39.09 
34Dave Hanley        39.50 
35Ciara O’Reagan       41.13 
36Shey Byrne       42.37