Rogers wins another National indoor title

Ian Rogers successfully defended his National Indoor Pole Vault title in Athlone IT today. Rogers, who in 2015 tied with club mate David Donegan, won the title with a best of 4.60m, with Donegan, not at his best, in 5th (4.10m).

Ausra Jerumbauskyte set a new club record for the third time this season in the long jump with a 5.62m jump to secure national bronze, bettering her existing record by some 11cm.

The rest of the day`s action on the track was in the heats where the black and amber enjoyed mixed fortunes. Chris Sibanda qualified to moved forward tomorrow in both the 200 in which he won his heat in 21.75 and the 60m again with a win (6.91). Also through to the next round of the 60 is Keith Pike 2nd in his heat in 6.95. Likewise Paul Whelan 3rd in 7.15 progresses. Young Pierce Friel was 2nd in his heat (7.15) but doesn`t progress.

Snezana Bechtina was 3rd in her 200 (26.79) but doesn`t progress, likewise neither Mark McDonald in the 400 nor Niall Norman in the 800 will see action tomorrow.